Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

William's Therapy Thread
William's Therapy Thread
I'm not sure where I should begin or even how much detail to offer, so I guess I'll start with the obvious. I'm William, am completely new to PAP therapy and I am definitely not having a good time with it so far. Feel free to call me William, as the screen name is nothing more than a very bad pun.

I've been sleeping poorly for many years now. I have been told I snore very loudly. I grind my teeth when I sleep. I am a very active sleeper most nights. (My bedding ought to demand hazard pay!)

I finally decided to try and do something about it after switching to a new doctor. This culminated in an at-home sleep study with a Philips Alice NightOne device. This went extremely poorly for multiple reasons. I typically sleep minimally clothed and the instructions indicated that wearing a shirt was required. Between the tension of the band that ran around my chest and the constant reappearance of brilliant yellow fault indicator lamps, and the cannula...I didn't sleep at all. They wanted a minimum of six hours of data. I gave up after four. Unsurprisingly, the results came back as inconclusive.

The hospital staff suggested I should have an on-site sleep study and I declined. I don't sleep well anywhere that isn't my own bed, and the representative I spoke with openly admitted she had tried and failed to complete the on-site study. She said noises from the rest of the hospital were clearly audible and after an hour, told them she was done and going home. I'm pretty sure I wouldn't have made it either. (She also said that she'd tried the at-home test with the Alice device three times and didn't last as long as I did...)