Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Working with Sleep Apnea? Has anyone gone back to their normal routines?
RE: Working with Sleep Apnea? Has anyone gone back to their normal routines?
@CHanlon that post was so inspirational to me - it shows we all have different worrying symptoms and that the change with CPAP therapy is life changing across a broad range of people with worrying symptoms because of their airways collapsing at night and the lack of O2 to our vital organs.
Post Reply Post Reply
[quote='Stiffdoc' pid='140537' dateline='1448591628']
Your husband will be fine, once his treatment starts and his sleep deprivation gets under control. I am a doctor, have has sleep apnea for 29 years, and used a CPAP for 10 years. I held the highest level in State government for my specialty for 18+ years, have travelled the world with my machine, and the apnea never interfered with my work as long as I used my machine faithfully.

My only caution is NOT the apnea; it's regarding the overall stress of a high pressure job. Adequate sleep is vital, but so is blood pressure control, and general care for his health. It is true that stress DOES kill; addressing the apnea is one part of overall health. When I decided to retire recently, a massive amount of chronic stress left my shoulders, and it probably extended my life. Be mindful of both of your lives, and the unintended consequences of an "important" job.

Good luck, and don't worry. You're both on the right path.

I would add stress and anxiety can be caused or exacerbated by sleep apnea as it can put you in more or less constant flight of fight mode do to constant jolts of adrenalin your body provides to keep you alive.

[Image: XrgA2v1.jpg]

I use my PAP machine nightly and I feel great!