Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Poll: Would you buy non data capable CPAP machine?
This poll is closed.
Yes
12.50%
3 12.50%
No
87.50%
21 87.50%
Total 24 vote(s) 100%
* You voted for this item. [Show Results]

Would you buy non data capable CPAP machine?
#1
Example of basic non data capable CPAP machines:
S9 Escape
PR System One Plus
Fisher & Paykel Novo
DeVilbiss IntelliPAP Standard


Post Reply Post Reply
#2
When I first started out in cpap land I couldnt understand why people where so obssesed with getting there data, lost some friends over the arguments. Went back 2 years later to say sorry as I now completely understand why. Having an S8 Autoset I had to order my card from Canada and my reader from Israel and it wasnt cheap but I now crunch data all the time, couldnt function without data
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
When I got my S9 Escape, I stupidly did not research it first. I was not aware machines had become so data capable and semi-affordable. I also did not realize that one version of the same machine would be and another would not. Seems very stupid and wasteful. The price difference is not that much.

I keep trying to save up to buy one out of pocket but stuff keeps coming up.

I didn't answer the poll because the one I have isn't data capable and no, I would not buy one that was not, now that I know.
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
Given the fact that data-capable CPAPs are only slightly higher in price, I'd go for data-capable every time. I'm pretty sure that all the modern ones (S9s, PR System One, etc.) are data-capable, but they simply "turn that feature off" for some low-end models just to compete with other manufacturers in the same price-point arena.

I'm pretty sure it's all in the firmware and not in the hardware, and all it takes is a re-flashing of the CPAP firmware to "upgrade" the machine to being data-capable. That's probably one of the reasons that they don't give end-users the ability to upgrade their firmware when a new version comes out - it would make it way too easy to hack a machine and make it into a fully data-capable one.

SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.



Post Reply Post Reply
#5
After 13+ years & 2 non data capable CPAP machines, I finally said:
I am mad as hell & I won't take it anymore.

I now have my APAP.
Enuff said.

It really is not that difficult to get them to give you an APAP.
But you must be persistent.
Be polite, but make sure they understand you will not settle for anything else.
Don't try to convince them that an APAP is really better.
Research all of the reasons why it is & tell them how they all apply to you.
Using the ResMed Mirage SoftGel Nasal Mask with a chinstrap

I do not use either the Ramp nor the EPR Comfort features

Have been on CPAP since December 1998

This is my 3rd machine

I use the ResMed ResScan Software (Version 3.16)
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
What I find irritating in this time where we demand the latest in appliances, phones, computers, cars, gadgets, etc.. still CPAP manufacturers insist on making those by-gone era non-data capable basic machines which serve no one or help doctors to monitor patients CPAP therapy.
And to add insult to injury they find a way to turn data capabilities reporting off on data capable machines.
Enough is enough, Shame on you CPAP manufacturers ResMed, Phillips Respironcis, Fisher & Paykel, Devibliss, and others.

I wouldn't buy non data capable CPAP and also if don,t know how to access the clinical menu, software and it don,t use a standard SD card.
This will limit the choice to two machines:
1-S9 AutoSet
2- PR system One Auto
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
"And to add insult to injury they find a way to turn data capabilities reporting off on data capable machines. "

Can/do they really do that... Can I turn it back on, if that happens?
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
(03-15-2012, 04:21 PM)USMC1968 Wrote: "And to add insult to injury they find a way to turn data capabilities reporting off on data capable machines. "

Can/do they really do that... Can I turn it back on, if that happens?

No absolute proof, but that is probably the case!

But, no, you canNOT turn it back on.

P.S.
Please specify which S9 you have (AutoSet, Elite, VPAP)
It helps to tailor answers to your specific machine.
Using the ResMed Mirage SoftGel Nasal Mask with a chinstrap

I do not use either the Ramp nor the EPR Comfort features

Have been on CPAP since December 1998

This is my 3rd machine

I use the ResMed ResScan Software (Version 3.16)
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
(03-15-2012, 04:21 PM)USMC1968 Wrote: "And to add insult to injury they find a way to turn data capabilities reporting off on data capable machines. "

Can/do they really do that... Can I turn it back on, if that happens?
Yes you can change it in the clinical menu
Sleep quality ON not usage

What S9 are you using?

Post Reply Post Reply


#10
(03-15-2012, 04:26 PM)zonk Wrote:
(03-15-2012, 04:21 PM)USMC1968 Wrote: "And to add insult to injury they find a way to turn data capabilities reporting off on data capable machines. "

Can/do they really do that... Can I turn it back on, if that happens?
Yes you can change it in the clinical menu
Sleep quality ON not usage

What S9 are you using?

Either you or I gave the wrong answer.
But, this time, I did beat you to an answer.

I think he was referring to ResMed turning an AutoSet into an Excape by merely changing the firmware in the machine.
Using the ResMed Mirage SoftGel Nasal Mask with a chinstrap

I do not use either the Ramp nor the EPR Comfort features

Have been on CPAP since December 1998

This is my 3rd machine

I use the ResMed ResScan Software (Version 3.16)
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
Question AirStart 10 CPAP as a backup machine TimtheEnchanter 11 187 Yesterday, 07:55 PM
Last Post: TimtheEnchanter
Exclaimation CPAP Machine Choices - read this before you accept a new machine SuperSleeper 58 25,528 Yesterday, 10:37 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Just got my first CPAP machine....YIKES!!! dumbusername 12 589 12-08-2017, 06:19 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [Equipment] Quebec Insurance for CPAP machine and supplies sonicboom 7 260 12-02-2017, 01:10 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  COPD with OSA and obtaining CPAP machine silversnore 9 241 11-28-2017, 08:25 AM
Last Post: silversnore
Information [Equipment] Inside View of a ResMed S9 CPAP Machine SuperSleeper 38 21,245 11-22-2017, 10:28 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  new cpap machine jamescox145 27 913 11-21-2017, 01:50 AM
Last Post: eddie willers

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.