Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

CPAP Newbie
CPAP Newbie
Hi everybody, I'm a CPAP newbie and have been lurking on this board for a few weeks. I figured it was time to tell me story.

I've been a snorer for as long as I can remember. My father was a big snorer, growing up I just assumed that's what people did. Fast forward a few (ok, maybe 20) years and I learn that I not only snore, but I snort, gasp and seem to stop breathing during the night. I never did anything about it because I was never aware of sleep apnea or how it related to snoring and not breathing.

Earlier this year I had abdominal surgery, afterwards the nurses told me they had a hard time getting me off of the anesthesia and had one of the worst sleep apnea cases they'd seen in a while. Having a medical professional tell me that gave me the push to talk to my doctor about it. He recommended a local ENT, who asked me a few questions, poked his instruments into all of the holes in my head and said that yep, based on my thick neck, out of place jaw I probably did have sleep apena. So off I went for a sleep test, the next morning I asked how I did and the tech told me "awful" and said I would be back soon to do another test with a CPAP. A few days later I heard from my doctor and I found out that I had an AHI of 63.9. During the sleep test I had 292 obstructive sleep apneas, 3 mixed apneas, 0 central apneas and 110 hypopneas. My oxygen desaturation was down to 75%.