Post Reply 
airsense 10 autoset malfunction?
Author Message
Marthajoy7 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 67
Joined: Jun 2015

Machine: aircurve 10 auto set to bipap S mode
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: resmed mirage full face or Clear view full mask
Humidifier: Resmed built in humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 18.4/12 clearview or 18/13 mir
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: Seattle

Post: #21
RE: airsense 10 autoset malfunction?
The comment about communication fault with the heater tube reminded me of something I read. I have had the Airsense 10 for her for almost 2 months with no problems and love my machine.
But it states to makes sure all wireless devices, including cell phones are at least 6 feet away from the machine. Even when not being used they can transmit to the tower to give there ID.
08-16-2015 09:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
sonicboom Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 474
Joined: May 2015

Machine: Airsense 10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit P10, Dreamwear
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 4.6-7.6
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Washington

Post: #22
RE: airsense 10 autoset malfunction?
My user guide says to keep mobile devices at least 1m (approx 3 feet) away from the device. However, that is not the problem referred to in the recall as near as I can tell. The problem is internal software to the machine not modem communication. My first machine I also used for about two months until one night suddenly it failed to record 3 hours of sleep and shot thru the max setting. I wish you continued good luck Marthajoy7 with your machine. I'm heading for my fourth since early May.

Coffee
08-17-2015 01:14 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
sonicboom Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 474
Joined: May 2015

Machine: Airsense 10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit P10, Dreamwear
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 4.6-7.6
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Washington

Post: #23
RE: airsense 10 autoset malfunction?
(08-16-2015 04:16 PM)pholynyk Wrote:  It looks like somebody got the model numbers wrong on the notice: my AirSense 10 Autoset has 37028 printed on the back, not 37208. I'll be checking with my DME tomorrow, since I'm also not sure what the Class III Hazard Classification means.

Thanks for posting this.

Let us know what your DME had to say. Thanks.

Coffee
08-17-2015 05:00 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
sonicboom Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 474
Joined: May 2015

Machine: Airsense 10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit P10, Dreamwear
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 4.6-7.6
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Washington

Post: #24
RE: airsense 10 autoset malfunction?
UPDATE-
Spoke with my DME today. They had no knowledge of the recall or the particular problem that was the subject of the recall. In any event, no questions asked, they will replace my machine with a new one. It's under warranty. Im thinking if I get the padding for the tube this might eliminate any potential for an electrical shock being misinterpreted by the software as a fault........

Coffee
08-19-2015 12:24 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
pholynyk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 306
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 APAP
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Amara View
Humidifier: included
CPAP Pressure: 11-17
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post: #25
RE: airsense 10 autoset malfunction?
RE the tubing static electricity fault recall notice:

After emailing ResMed, a rep called me who said that the software fault was repaired by an over the air update (for those who still have the modem connected...) in the Untied States. I then spoke to my DME who said that it was applied over the air in Canada as well. She said they would have called me if it had been necessary to bring my machine in.
08-20-2015 03:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
sonicboom Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 474
Joined: May 2015

Machine: Airsense 10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit P10, Dreamwear
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 4.6-7.6
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Washington

Post: #26
RE: airsense 10 autoset malfunction?
(08-20-2015 03:31 PM)pholynyk Wrote:  RE the tubing static electricity fault recall notice:

After emailing ResMed, a rep called me who said that the software fault was repaired by an over the air update (for those who still have the modem connected...) in the Untied States. I then spoke to my DME who said that it was applied over the air in Canada as well. She said they would have called me if it had been necessary to bring my machine in.

I received the same info from my DME today after I sent them the link to the recall. The problem I see, which I have yet to get clarification on, is that it is entirely possible the update occurred while your and my machines were still in their boxes. If so, when would our machines have gotten the update and how? When did ResMed start using new software in their machines? My unit definately did not have the software update because I got the erroneous error message. I'm asking these questions of my DME. Stay tuned.

Coffee
08-20-2015 11:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
me50 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 2,559
Joined: Aug 2013

Machine: resmed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Wisp and Silicone Head gear
Humidifier: resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18/8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #27
RE: airsense 10 autoset malfunction?
(08-16-2015 09:53 PM)Marthajoy7 Wrote:  The comment about communication fault with the heater tube reminded me of something I read. I have had the Airsense 10 for her for almost 2 months with no problems and love my machine.
But it states to makes sure all wireless devices, including cell phones are at least 6 feet away from the machine. Even when not being used they can transmit to the tower to give there ID.

I have never been told to keep my cell phone away from my machine and I have kept my cell on the table next to the machine for almost 2 years now and not had any trouble with the machine. But, I don't have the A10 with a modem attached.
08-21-2015 04:15 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
sonicboom Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 474
Joined: May 2015

Machine: Airsense 10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit P10, Dreamwear
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 4.6-7.6
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Washington

Post: #28
RE: airsense 10 autoset malfunction?
(08-20-2015 03:31 PM)pholynyk Wrote:  RE the tubing static electricity fault recall notice:

After emailing ResMed, a rep called me who said that the software fault was repaired by an over the air update (for those who still have the modem connected...) in the Untied States. I then spoke to my DME who said that it was applied over the air in Canada as well. She said they would have called me if it had been necessary to bring my machine in.

UPDATE

I spoke with Resmed and DME today (new machine in hand) regarding the software update. Both said the software updates automatically when the machine is plugged in. There is nothing that the end user has to do. So, assuming this is in fact the case, that leaves us with no explanation for why these machines malfunctioned the way they did because they supposedly had the latest software updates. If this latest unit malfunctions I think it will be time to abandon ResMed. Perhaps the new dreamstation.

Coffee
08-21-2015 02:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Coola32 Offline

Members

Posts: 9
Joined: Sep 2015

Machine: Resmed Air Sense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 4.4-6
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #29
RE: airsense 10 autoset malfunction?
Hi all,

I joined last night as i'm also having the exact issues as sonicboom. It must be rare as no-one in Australia is reporting it. I have been using the S10 since the 25th August and I've had 4 nights where it hasn't malfunctioned. I'm very keen to find out why as I purchased from the U.S and don't want to send it back for replacement unless necessary.

I'm going to call back into a CPAP supplier today and either purchase some standard or slimline tubing v the climate-line i'm currently using. Or my other option is hire an autoset. I am currently not using the humidifier or heating due to rain out and the tube obstruction message when clearly not blocked. I have my pressure maxed at 7 and like sonicboom when it malfunctions it goes to 10cm. I actually know when mine is about to malfunction as it becomes very audible and then I struggle to breathe.
09-06-2015 11:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
sonicboom Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 474
Joined: May 2015

Machine: Airsense 10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit P10, Dreamwear
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 4.6-7.6
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Washington

Post: #30
RE: airsense 10 autoset malfunction?
(09-06-2015 11:32 PM)Coola32 Wrote:  Hi all,

I joined last night as i'm also having the exact issues as sonicboom. It must be rare as no-one in Australia is reporting it. I have been using the S10 since the 25th August and I've had 4 nights where it hasn't malfunctioned. I'm very keen to find out why as I purchased from the U.S and don't want to send it back for replacement unless necessary.

I'm going to call back into a CPAP supplier today and either purchase some standard or slimline tubing v the climate-line i'm currently using. Or my other option is hire an autoset. I am currently not using the humidifier or heating due to rain out and the tube obstruction message when clearly not blocked. I have my pressure maxed at 7 and like sonicboom when it malfunctions it goes to 10cm. I actually know when mine is about to malfunction as it becomes very audible and then I struggle to breathe.

Welcome aboard Coola. Its nice to know Im not alone. Since my last post I can give you some more info and some ways to deal with the issue. I have spoken with Resmed clinical support. They are asking for me to send in my data card. They want to see why this is happening. They believe it is rainout based and when the tubing is rained out it will exceed the max pressure sensing there is breathing trouble.

The following are the remedies from my experience and in talking with clinical support:

1) if you are in a humid area turn up the tube temp to 85. if you are in a dry area and using A\C the remedy is the same
2) use a tube sock like a snugglehose (available on-line) to wrap the line
3) make sure the tube has a "U" shape to it after it exists the machine so water doesn't reverse back into the machine
4) when you sense the machine is about to malfunction unplug it for about 5 seconds then plug it back in. This will cause a hard re-set and you should then be fine for the rest of the night.
5) i'm also getting a new tube in case the one I have is faulty as it is the only thing in common between the four machines I've had so far.

Keep us posted on anything you learn or figure out on your end. If you can, also call clinical support and see what info you get.

Coffee
09-07-2015 12:16 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Question ResMed AirSense 10 Badjo17 26 2,484 12-04-2016 09:30 AM
Last Post: Arnie51
  Is this sound normal? - Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset Ronberta 8 1,262 11-29-2016 07:59 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  [Pressure] new airsense 10 new at this abrun7 7 514 11-19-2016 02:12 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  Been about a week with the AirSense 10 for Her Beej 4 394 11-11-2016 09:30 PM
Last Post: Beej
  1st night on new Airsense 10 for her Beej 7 482 11-02-2016 06:08 PM
Last Post: Beej
  Resmed Airsense 10 CPAP data versus Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset data David P. 4 539 10-29-2016 08:42 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Brand new Resmed AirSense 10 Autoset - Warreny Repair DerfNL 7 638 10-08-2016 07:36 PM
Last Post: lab rat

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)