Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

airsense10 autoset -dreamstation autocpap
#21
RE: airsense10 autoset -dreamstation autocpap
Let's see if someone can help me with this issue: I use autocpap airsense 10 autoset since October 19. Total EPR 3, IPAP 7-11 ramp 5 for 10 minutes. Integrated humidifier 1-2. Now my medical insurance only provides me with a Phillips Respironic dreamstation and I have no possibility to change the machine, I have to continue using the DreamStation. My surprise was when I see that the two machines with the same IPAP values, ramp, humidification do not even give similar results. I am not comfortable with the DreamStation autocpap: a lot of condensation, IAH rises a lot, there are RERAS and flow limitation even with the machine turned off (obviously it is an exaggeration, of course) and EPR does not exist, Flex I do not understand well; which one to use: A? C? C +? The fact is that DreamStation is the only machine that my medical insurance will provide, no other, so I will have no choice but to get used to it. And as soon as possible, because I have a medical visit in April and if I don't use it, they take it away. Any suggestions on flex? Any suggestions on IPAP? Any suggestions on humidification? On ramp ?.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#22
RE: airsense10 autoset -dreamstation autocpap
Dreamstations are slower to respond to OAs than a Resmed. This means you need to start at a higher pressure. Usually, this is between the median and 95 percentile values. Can you post an image that is a typical day from your AS10?
Crimson Nape
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com
___________________________________
Useful Links -or- When All Else Fails:
OSCAR Chart Organization
Attaching Images and Files on Apnea Board
Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead and OSCAR
Apnea Helpful Tips

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#23
RE: airsense10 autoset -dreamstation autocpap
       
[attachment=20815 Wrote:[attachment=20814] Crimson Nape pid='338878' dateline='1583757312']Dreamstations are slower to respond to OAs than a Resmed.  This means you need to start at a higher pressure.  Usually, this is between the median and 95 percentile values.  Can you post an image that is a typical day from your AS10?

The capture of AS10 is from the previous night, 5 hours, I don't sleep much, I wake up and I can't fall asleep anymore.
The capture of DreamStation is one hour in the afternoon, watching television, that is, AWAKE. I try to get used to it, I'm not comfortable. In addition, I do not understand that while awake these high IAH values come out
How do I put ez-start, off or on? How do I put opti-start, off or on? What flex do I put? A?, C? C?
I have access to the clinical menu, no problem. When I take the machine to the doctor, I will block it again.
Post Reply Post Reply
#24
RE: airsense10 autoset -dreamstation autocpap
Your Dreamstation is plateauing out. You need to set your maximum pressure to at least 12 cm.  If you don't need the pressure it won't use it.

Edit: I now see you that have it set to 11 cm. It is strange to me that your Dreamstation isn't going higher. Your Resmed clearly shows that you were using over 10 cm during a sleep session.
Crimson Nape
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com
___________________________________
Useful Links -or- When All Else Fails:
OSCAR Chart Organization
Attaching Images and Files on Apnea Board
Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead and OSCAR
Apnea Helpful Tips

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#25
RE: airsense10 autoset -dreamstation autocpap
Ok, I'll raise the maximum ipap to 13. What I don't understand is why it gives those values. I am not asleep, I am awake. Will it be broken? Someone told me that I am surely half-sleeping, but it is not so. I'm awake. Another thing, what do I do with the Flex? Which one do I put, A, C or C +? Active or inactive opti-start ?. (I do not understand what it is) Active or inactive Ez-start ?. (I don't understand what it is) Humidifier ?. Even in 1 I notice a lot of condensation, I notice a continuous gurgling in the tube. If I don't put humidifier I get up with a dry throat, (I think I open my mouth a little, there are snoring). For now I have only put the DreamStation three or four nights and since the experience was so bad I went back to AS 10 Resmed. I use DreamStation in the afternoon for a while to try to get used to it but I think the machine is broken. How can I give those values ​​if I'm awake?
Post Reply Post Reply
#26
RE: airsense10 autoset -dreamstation autocpap
the machine doesn't know if you're asleep or awake. it reports your breathing patterns regardless. awake breathing waveforms can be uglier than sleep. while we're awake, dozing on & off maybe, tossing & turning, we often hold our breath. the bottom line is don't worry about events that occur while awake. personally, I turn the machine off if I'm awake for more than a couple minutes. it helps me track my sleep efficiency & the sleep hygiene folks tell us it helps our minds associate bed with sleep.
Post Reply Post Reply
#27
RE: airsense10 autoset -dreamstation autocpap
On the dream station make sure you don't have optistart turned on as that will limit the max pressure of the machine for a number of days 30 I think
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#28
RE: airsense10 autoset -dreamstation autocpap
I'm a little surprised that OAs would be recorded for a period when the user is completely awake. (CAs and Hs seem less surprising.)
Post Reply Post Reply
#29
RE: airsense10 autoset -dreamstation autocpap
"I'm a little surprised that OAs would be recorded for a period when the user is completely awake. (CAs and Hs seem less surprising.)"

yes, I think ca is more common & intuitively it makes more sense that swj would be central but I also think we're not very good at knowing / self reporting whether we're asleep, especially dozing in transition. in addition, experimenting a little with awake breath holding w mask on, I
find I can get both ca & oa reported by the machine & oscar. since I moved from asv to vauto I'm seeing more oa at the end of my sessions; no way to know if the oa woke me up or if it's swj but starting to think more likely to be swj.
Post Reply Post Reply
#30
RE: airsense10 autoset -dreamstation autocpap
(03-09-2020, 07:19 AM)astracan Wrote: Let's see if someone can help me with this issue: I use autocpap airsense 10 autoset since October 19. Total EPR 3, IPAP 7-11 ramp 5 for 10 minutes. Integrated humidifier 1-2. Now my medical insurance only provides me with a Phillips Respironic dreamstation and I have no possibility to change the machine, I have to continue using the DreamStation. My surprise was when I see that the two machines with the same IPAP values, ramp, humidification do not even give similar results. I am not comfortable with the DreamStation autocpap: a lot of condensation, IAH rises a lot, there are RERAS and flow limitation even with the machine turned off (obviously it is an exaggeration, of course) and EPR does not exist, Flex I do not understand well; which one to use: A? C? C +? The fact is that DreamStation is the only machine that my medical insurance will provide, no other, so I will have no choice but to get used to it. And as soon as possible, because I have a medical visit in April and if I don't use it, they take it away. Any suggestions on flex? Any suggestions on IPAP? Any suggestions on humidification? On ramp ?.

Why the difference?
The ResMed main driver is Flow Limitations,
the Dreamstation is Snores

Obviously this means different results.  Which one is right?  I can assure you that both companies have millions of research saying their way is good.

I think you already understand that many here prefer ResMed.  
One thing you can do is complain about how this isn't working for you, your symptoms, (highlighted above) be more specific.  Document how you cannot use this CPAP system.

The common replacement of CPAP issues is a BiPAP machine, the same it's not working uff will help get an ASV i9f that is the determination.
Fred Bonjour - Project Manager and Lead Tester for OSCAR - Open Source CPAP Analysis Reporter 
OSCAR

Download OSCAR
New to Apnea? Helpful tips to ensure success
Soft Cervical Collar
Mask Primer
Dealing with a DME
Organize Charts
Attaching Charts

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  autoset for her cpapnovice 4 175 09-21-2020, 12:02 AM
Last Post: Cpapian
Question [CPAP] New to CPAP - Recommended Airsense10 Settings buffeh 7 411 09-07-2020, 11:25 AM
Last Post: Dormeo
  for my Airsense10 how do you best get proper humidity control? jpapnea 7 424 07-25-2020, 03:36 PM
Last Post: hegel
  [Equipment] AirSense10 SD card data movement on ResScan software Maury54 6 297 07-21-2020, 07:47 AM
Last Post: Crimson Nape
  [Equipment] ResMed Airsense10 SDCard ssmithrb 7 399 06-08-2020, 08:11 PM
Last Post: Big Guy
  Used AirSense10 bt60 10 632 06-04-2020, 08:43 AM
Last Post: OpalRose
  Changing EPR on ResMed Airsense10 Autoset SideSleeper 8 486 03-12-2020, 07:56 PM
Last Post: SideSleeper


New Posts   Today's Posts






About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.