Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

apnea and anxiety
apnea and anxiety
Hi,

I've been using a machine and a full face mask for roughly 4 months with mostly good results and a few teething problems.

The biggest one currently is mask leakage, seeing a new vendor tonight so hopefully they can help.

But I also find ill have 2-3 quite good nights, then when I'm rested I really struggle to get to sleep with the mask on, mostly from an awkward standpoint. Not because its uncomfortable just unnatural. which then makes me quite anxious... In turn I wake up extremely anxious and will typically toss and turn, have big mask leaks wake up with VERY puffy eyes and it takes a couple nights like this before I'm sufficiently tired to just fall asleep with the mask on and the cycle starts again.

I've never slept on my back (I now suspect I've always had apnea to some degree) and my sleep sturdy said 80/hour when I'm on my back so I'm assuming sub consciously that's part of why.

Has anyone got any tips for minimizing these issues and learning to sleep in my back/side?

When I settle on a mask I like and can purchase a machine rather than be at the mercy of health 'professionals' who care more about their sale and commission rather than my health it'll help too as ill be back in control.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: apnea and anxiety
Wear the mask with the machine on during the day. This will help you to get used to it.

Why do you need/want to sleep on your back? Unless it is your preferred position, it's not a good position to sleep in for those of us who have sleep apnea.
PaulaO

Take a deep breath and count to zen.

Post Reply Post Reply