Post Reply 
bathrom breaks?
Author Message
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,853
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #11
RE: bathrom breaks?
I sometimes have to hit the head in the early AM hours. I hit the stop button; and just disconnect the hose at the mask. Leaving the mask on.
I don't use the ramp; so, I reconnect; and am back at therapy pressure quickly.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
11-16-2013 11:06 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Zorki1c Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 134
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 6
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Pacific Northwest United States

Post: #12
RE: bathrom breaks?
If you don't shut off the machine for the potty break your data will be screwed up and worthless. I have my machine set so I turn it off when I get up and restart it simply putting the mask back on and breathing into it. Because I always get up a couple of times a night I don't use the ramp feature which is easy because my pressure is only set at 6.

"Sometimes the magic works . . . and sometimes it doesn't" -- Chief Dan George in the movie Little Big Man
11-16-2013 12:35 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Homerec130 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 445
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: Philips/Resperonics BiPAP auto SV Advanced System One (950P)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quatro FX
Humidifier: Philips Respironics System 1
CPAP Pressure: 6-16
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: But it is a dry heat.

Sex: Male
Location: Tucson, AZ

Post: #13
RE: bathrom breaks?
I use the ramp when I first go to bed (15 minutes) finds it helps me drift off. If I get up during the night, I turn it off and then back on without ramp when I go back to bed. The only problem is that darn test beep when I turn it back on. It can wake the dead. Now, if I could shut it off....
11-16-2013 02:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
eviltim Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 408
Joined: Aug 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 VPAP
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed AirFit F10
Humidifier: H5i heated humidifer
CPAP Pressure: 5 exhale/9 inhale
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #14
RE: bathrom breaks?
The first night I used CPAP, I had the ramp set to the absolute max (45 mins), figured I would need it. The next night, I turned it off and haven't looked back. I'm not on a super high pressure and I'm on BiPAP so I find it really doesn't bother me too much.

As for turning it on and off, I just disconnect the hose. My data looks fine, both by the numbers and looking at the graphs (though obviously there is a small gap when it is not connected).
11-16-2013 02:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
sir_sleeps_alot Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 58
Joined: Oct 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage FX
Humidifier: Hi5
CPAP Pressure: 14 cm h2o
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: New England

Post: #15
RE: bathrom breaks?
Once when I got it off, I left it running and the other time I stopped it. And I think the first time, I pulled the whole mask off and the second time, I just disconnected the hose. Sounds like the ideal thing to do would be for me to just d/c the hose and hit the stop button. Guess I will do that tonight, if I remember. Smile

As far as the ramp goes, I have a 5 minute ramp set but will most likely turn it off for tonight. It feels like I'm barely getting enough air the first 4.5 minutes and as soon as it hits that last 30 seconds, it's like someone has shoved a jet engine down my throat. I didn't have a problem falling asleep with the jet engine so I'm assuming I'll be fine without those first 4.5 minutes of near suffocation.

Thanks for the input.
11-16-2013 02:59 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
DrWho? Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 47
Joined: Nov 2013

Machine: Philips Respironics/REMstar Pro C-Flex
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: Philips Respionics
CPAP Pressure: 17
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Canberra Australia

Post: #16
RE: bathrom breaks?
I used to leave CPAP machine running when on loo breaks during the night. Seems most turn their machines off during breaks. Looks like I'll be turning mine off during loo breaks.

I'm not a Doctor but a fan of The Doctor. any views,comments etc are my own
(This post was last modified: 11-16-2013 04:49 PM by DrWho?.)
11-16-2013 04:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
SabrinaFaire Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 35
Joined: Oct 2013

Machine: Phillips Respironics 460P System One
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quattro
Humidifier: Phillips Respironics
CPAP Pressure: 10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: Omaha, NE

Post: #17
RE: bathrom breaks?
I turn it off since it's noisy and I don't want to wake up the husband.
11-16-2013 05:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
sleepy_one Offline

Members

Posts: 16
Joined: Nov 2013

Machine: PRS1 Auto 60 Series
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Pilairo Q
Humidifier: PRS1 Auto 60 Series w/ Heated Hose
CPAP Pressure: 10-16
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: 10 year "brick" CPAP user. Brand new APAP user.

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #18
RE: bathrom breaks?
With my old Cpap machine which was not data capable, I just left it running. I have been using a new Apap machine for about a week and I am turning it off before getting up because if I leave it running it will get very loud trying to up the pressure. I am not sure if leaving the Apap running would screw up readings.
11-27-2013 10:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,067
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #19
RE: bathrom breaks?
No, it would not. It would show a big leak. The newer machines can detect if the machine is being "used" vs just being turned on. This keeps folks honest in their compliance hours.

When you look at the data, you can easily find where you got up and left the machine running.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
11-27-2013 11:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
sleepy_one Offline

Members

Posts: 16
Joined: Nov 2013

Machine: PRS1 Auto 60 Series
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Pilairo Q
Humidifier: PRS1 Auto 60 Series w/ Heated Hose
CPAP Pressure: 10-16
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: 10 year "brick" CPAP user. Brand new APAP user.

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #20
RE: bathrom breaks?
(11-27-2013 11:45 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  No, it would not. It would show a big leak. The newer machines can detect if the machine is being "used" vs just being turned on. This keeps folks honest in their compliance hours.

When you look at the data, you can easily find where you got up and left the machine running.

That is interesting. Are the machines capable of differentiating between use during sleep vs. non-sleep? I wondered that last night after lying awake for 2 hours (with the machine on). Sad I am not adjusting well to my new APAP machine and it is taking all of my strength to not haul out my old "brick" CPAP machine instead.
(This post was last modified: 11-28-2013 01:14 AM by sleepy_one.)
11-28-2013 01:12 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Equipment] same part breaks on Philips Wisp frame okieman 14 1,037 02-27-2016 12:39 PM
Last Post: okieman

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)