Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

can't solve Forma mask leaks
can't solve Forma mask leaks
This is my first post here so bear with me. I've been using my CPAP and mask for about 2 years with few problems. In Dec 2016 I noticed more mask leaks than usual  and fired up Sleepyhead and Rescan. Sure enough, large leaks and AHI indicated. I decided to replace my mask with new stuff but still the Forma Large. I have been struggling since then to lower leaks. Used the jeffy1958 procedure because it made sense to me. However, the results are not happening.
I happened to have a Quatro FX that I used last night. The results are somewhat better but I don't think it's right. When I put on the either mask, they seem OK at first not tight and the 'skirt' inflates and I don't notice leaks. I then move the mask around to see how much tolerance there is for leaks. Then off to sleep. I'm usually awakened an hour or so later with the mask seeming to blow off my face and making a helluva whoosing noise. It's like the S9 is starting LiftOff. I've tried manually forcing the mask against my face to see if the pressure will eventually go down but it doesn't. I then cycle power on the S9. I can repeat this several times and then I just give up and put up with the apneas.
I know I must be making this more complicated than necessary.   I've attached several plots from Sleepyhead in the hopes that you can spot some obvious problems.
imgur.com/UAsFk1m.png       Forma
imgur.com/Dx3FsoC.png          Forma
imgur.com/5FFJtHo.png           Forma
imgur.com/mWCm98Z.png      Quatro (the first data is me trying the mask first to make sure it was working)

Thanks
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: can't solve Forma mask leaks