Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

comfort v. apnea reduction
comfort v. apnea reduction
I'm facing a tradeoff (very newbie!):
at pressure 5, hourly apneas generally in 2-4 range, with some discomfort.
Versus pressure at 4 and less discomfort, but hourly apneas now 5-7.

I'm new at this -- should I go back to pressure of 5, and "get used to it",
or are higher apneas not of much concern so pressure of 4 is OK?

Any opinions from veterans?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: comfort v. apnea reduction
(10-18-2016, 09:58 AM)cdm807 Wrote: I'm facing a tradeoff (very newbie!):
at pressure 5, hourly apneas generally in 2-4 range, with some discomfort.
Versus pressure at 4 and less discomfort, but hourly apneas now 5-7.

I'm new at this -- should I go back to pressure of 5, and "get used to it",
or are higher apneas not of much concern so pressure of 4 is OK?

Any opinions from veterans?

My question would be "what was your prescribed pressure ?". Both 4 and 5 are extremely low and in my opinion neither are comfortable or effective treatment most cases.

Post Reply Post Reply
It depends on what the comfort issue is. If it is simply a sensation of pressure, then you should use the higher pressure and eventually you will adapt. If the higher pressure causes a problem like air ingestion, that is not likely to get better in time. Most of us use considerably higher pressures and after a while, never notice it.
Sleeprider
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

Organize your OSCAR Charts
Attaching Files
Mask Primer
How To Deal With Equipment Supplier