Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

data gaps on ResMed AirCurve 10 ASV
#1
data gaps on ResMed AirCurve 10 ASV
Greetings to all,
I have been experimenting with a chin prop device and had very bad leakage last night. Here is a close up showing how the machine responded with dropouts in the data. Can others confirm this is how their data looks on this machine when the leakage is this high? Could there be anything else going on? We also had a raging electrical storm going on at the time.
Thanks for feedback!

   
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#2
RE: data gaps on ResMed AirCurve 10 ASV
not much help here. more than a year with the same machine and I've never seen this. what's weird is that some of the drop outs don't appear to be associated with leaks. I wonder if your smartstart is on?
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
RE: data gaps on ResMed AirCurve 10 ASV
Thank you for your response.

Yes, I saw that some gaps do not appear to begin with high leakage. There are many calculations that are affected by leakage and some of them are averages over time. I am hoping this is just normal with resetting calcs due to high leakage and not a malfunctioning machine. I will see how it does tonight. I got a buckwheat husk pillow to help stabilize head movement from side to side as I sleep on my back and this does affect leakage.

Smart start is on. We determined we did not lose electricity last night during the storm. Many other items in our home would have been affected and blinking if that were the case.
Post Reply Post Reply
#4
RE: data gaps on ResMed AirCurve 10 ASV
I was thinking the problem might be smartstart. if you had a large leak in the amount and duration that smartstart uses to decide when to turn the machine off, the machine might have turned off until you stopped leaking and restarted the machine with the next closed circuit breaths. obviously the way to test that theory is try it without smartstart.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#5
RE: data gaps on ResMed AirCurve 10 ASV
I was guessing maybe a bad SD card? They are pretty cheap. Might try to format a brand new card and pop it in. I'd hate the thought of your PAP machine failing.

I suppose, another long shot - you could check the SD card and see if the contacts are corroded or otherwise dirty (unlikely). And/or shoot some dry air-in-a-can in the SD card socket.

Another guess is maybe the storm produced a lot of static discharge that created a bunch of EMI and/or RFI on the line that might mess with the PAP machine, but not to the point of causing anything serious to fail. It may run perfectly fine from here on out and be a one-off incident. Otherwise you may have to just try to log any possible causes if it keeps occurring.

If you suspect that lightning is causing problems with "dirty" power, you can always get a power strip, but don't get a cheap $20 model. You'll have to spend $65 +/- to get one that has circuitry that actually removes EMI and RFI from the line. The cheaper ones don't.

Best of luck.
RayBee

  
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
RE: data gaps on ResMed AirCurve 10 ASV
Thanks for your responses. All good guesses.
Last night I had no leakage with the buckwheat pillow and the chin prop. No storm. No dropouts in the data either. Everything looks normal. I guess I will just carry on and see what happens after this. So glad you are all here with thoughts to share. Keeps me from going into panic mode when things look bad!
Post Reply Post Reply
#7
RE: data gaps on ResMed AirCurve 10 ASV
(09-09-2019, 06:41 PM)KallyA Wrote: Thanks for your responses. All good guesses.
Last night I had no leakage with the buckwheat pillow and the chin prop. No storm. No dropouts in the data either. Everything looks normal. I guess I will just carry on and see what happens after this. So glad you are all here with thoughts to share. Keeps me from going into panic mode when things look bad!

Don't panic Kally.
I never do as long as there's plenty of ice cream in the house.  like 

Sleep-well
RayBee

  
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [CPAP] [mb635] - AirSense 10 Autoset to Aircurve 10 ASV mb635 79 2,387 11-21-2020, 04:58 PM
Last Post: staceyburke
Question [Equipment] AIRCURVE REPAIR srlevine1 3 171 11-08-2020, 10:02 PM
Last Post: SarcasticDave94
Question What are the most important aspects to look for when purchasing RESMED Aircurve 10 S mb635 6 213 10-27-2020, 04:54 PM
Last Post: SarcasticDave94
  Resmed Aircurve 10 VAuto SD card type happydreams 9 201 10-23-2020, 02:24 PM
Last Post: SarcasticDave94
  [CPAP] Newbie would like some advice (Aircurve 10 VAuto) leancomfort 8 307 10-19-2020, 04:48 PM
Last Post: leancomfort
  What settings should I start with? (Self titrating a Resmed AirCurve 10 Vauto) sleepy331 6 250 10-17-2020, 02:40 PM
Last Post: bonjour
  SD card not working on my ResMed AirCurve 10 Dandur805 12 320 10-17-2020, 02:09 PM
Last Post: jaswilliams


New Posts   Today's Posts






About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.