Post Reply 
europe - S9 Power Supply
Author Message
garry3555 Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: May 2013

Machine: auto set cpap
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: not sure
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 11.0
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
europe - S9 Power Supply
will my resmed s9 work ok in europe?
07-01-2013 08:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Paptillian Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 474
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 4 - 10, EPR x2
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post: #2
RE: europe
The manual that came with mine says that it does. The S9 AutoSet's power supply automatically adapts to 240V (50-60Hz), but you still need to buy a simple adaptor so that it can fit inside the european sockets. No need for a voltage converter.

My S9 is a new unit though. Good idea to check your own power supply that came with it just to be sure.
07-01-2013 08:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,449
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #3
RE: europe
Hi garry3555,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more answers to your question and I hope you have a nice time in Europe.

trish6hundred
07-01-2013 08:39 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
DerekN Offline

Members

Posts: 8
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Micro
Humidifier: Resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 10 cmsh20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: CPAP user for over 10 years, previous device was S7 Lightweight.

Sex: Male
Location: Ireland

Post: #4
RE: europe
Depending on where you are travelling to in Europe you may need different adapters or a one universal adapter. The plug and socket type for Ireland and UK are totally different to other European countries.
07-02-2013 11:25 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
cbramsey Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 900
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i with ClimateLine
CPAP Pressure: 6 - 12
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Supreme Overlord of Web Darkness

Sex: Male
Location: NC, USA

Post: #5
RE: europe
You may need to invest in a travel adapter set that allows for the different plug styles in various countries.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
07-02-2013 03:44 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Kadenz Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 69
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: AirFit F10
Humidifier: AirSense 10 HumidAir
CPAP Pressure: Auto-CPAP
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: England

Post: #6
RE: europe
(07-01-2013 08:22 PM)garry3555 Wrote:  will my resmed s9 work ok in europe?

I live in England and have a ResMed s9.

As others have said, you will need a plug adapter as sockets vary somewhat - the UK/Eire is different from mainland Northern Europe, which in turn is different from Southern Europe. You can buy adapters at airports as well as many supermarkets and chemists (drug stores).

Buying distilled water for humidifiers, however, is not easy in the UK. Unlike the US, drug stores and supermarkets don't tend to sell it, so you may have to use bottled water.
07-03-2013 03:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
RonWessels Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 465
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: REMstar Auto AFlex DS560TS
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ComfortGel Blue
Humidifier: REMstar Heated Tube DS6T
CPAP Pressure: 11 - 20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS50F Pulse Oximeter

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post: #7
RE: europe
Apparently, although I have no first-hand knowledge of this, distilled water is sometimes available in hardware stores for use in steam irons.
07-03-2013 03:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,067
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #8
RE: europe
The need for distilled water is less an issue in most of UK and many European places. At least from what I have heard. It is why the Brits are so confused as to why so many of us use clothes dryers when so few use them in the UK. If I were to hang my jeans on the line, they would come down stiff as a board. Same with most other clothes due to the mineral content in the water. This is not an issue in the UK.

You will be just fine using bottled water.

The main reason for the distilled thing is the mineral content. Distilled water is not always sterile (and certainly isn't after you open the lid), but it has no mineral content. This is the white stuff you see on glasses. It can also be the brown stains in sinks if it is a location with "heavy" water.

If you are going there to visit, use the bottled water then, if you notice any non-removable white stains, you can use it as backup and get another tub. Easy fix. The non-take-apart tub is very cheap and hurts less if you choose to toss it.

As for the power outlet, adapters are sold just about everywhere nowadays. Your best bet is a luggage specialty store.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
07-03-2013 08:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
OMyMyOHellYes Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 915
Joined: Mar 2013

Machine: Respironics 560 Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage FX
Humidifier: Respironics System One (no heated hose)
CPAP Pressure: 08.0-15.0 cm/H2O
CPAP Software: EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Texas

Post: #9
RE: europe
Yes - as a matter of fact, if you get the 30W power supply it comes with about a half doz (?) international plugs that go right on the back of the power supply and it hangs out of the socket. That is the power supply I travel with.

Do not try and run the H5i with the unit if using the 30W PS.

OMyMy
(This post was last modified: 07-04-2013 09:39 PM by OMyMyOHellYes.)
07-04-2013 09:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
iSnooze Offline
Apnea Board Proofreader
Advisory Members

Posts: 239
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: Respironics PR System One C-Flex+
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Micro
Humidifier: System One Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 11
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: also use a Comfort Gel Full Mask by Respironics

Sex: Female
Location: Indiana

Post: #10
RE: europe - S9 Power Supply
I travel with high school students every 2 years to Germany for a month. (Yes, I'm crazy). I give them the following information.

Reminder: If you are bringing anything that needs to be plugged in, you need and adaptor. An adaptor allows the American prongs on a plug to fit into a German electrical outlet.
If your power brick does not have this info on it “100-240V~50/60Hz” then you also need a converter also called a transformer. Radio Shack, Walmart and Amazon sell them. If you have a high energy appliance such as some curling irons, you will need to make sure that you buy the one that can handle the voltage needed.


Check your power brick to see if you need a converter or just an adaptor. I also tell the students that some adaptors are better than others, as in the picture below. You can buy the round adaptors on Amazon. I have not seen them in any of the local stores. The outlet shown below should be the same for all European countries on the continent. The UK has different outlets.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
07-05-2013 08:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [News] ASAA received large supply of donated equipment big_dave 0 113 11-28-2016 11:34 PM
Last Post: big_dave
  Insurance won't pay for power cord? CharlotteYork 13 904 11-17-2016 11:58 PM
Last Post: tzk321
Idea ResMed S8 repair for no power SuperSleeper 4 257 11-17-2016 02:41 PM
Last Post: 10bigal10
  Power Outage: Stay Awake Or Sleep W/O CPAP? player 11 715 10-26-2016 08:29 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  WINTER COMING....POWER OUTAGES??? giftofsleep 2 324 10-06-2016 06:52 PM
Last Post: justMongo
  DreamStation power supply Bouncer334 4 561 09-03-2016 11:07 AM
Last Post: Perchas
  [Equipment] Camping for 7 days - AirCurve 10 ASV - battery power? Grooves McFly 21 2,779 08-31-2016 01:29 AM
Last Post: Maskup Sleepwell

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)