Post Reply 
how do you edit out bad data in resmed
Author Message
space45 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 68
Joined: Mar 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro FX
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: hope to find out soon
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: B.C. Canada

Post: #1
how do you edit out bad data in resmed
now that I am getting better sleep I am back to my old "it takes a bit to get to sleep thing" my data is bad when I am awake. I throw all sorts of events, BTW should that worry me?

so my AHI sucks, but my real AHI is very good. would be nice to trim the data or at least set sleep started here and ended here, now the end thing is no biggie as I do not lay with it on in the morn, but at night waiting for sleep, that can take some time, over a hour last night, and very bad date during that time.

any help would be great
now I know that reports it gets generated only looking at the data on the screen of the detailed graphing section, oops I just looked only the graphing in the report section is effected by the viewing of the detailed graphing section.

man do I suck at breathing when awake according to the resmed data

thanks
Stan
(This post was last modified: 04-02-2014 11:42 AM by space45.)
04-02-2014 11:32 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #2
RE: how do you edit out bad data in resmed
Events when you are awake do not mean anything. It's highly unlikely you are going to forget to breath for an extended period of time without noticing it when you're awake. So that's not really an issue. However, thinking we're having an event while being unable to go to sleep could point to some other difficulty we need to examine. For instance a tendency to "panic breath" while laying awake could indicate undue stress, or even a congested heart issue that needs treated. So hurray that you've got the sleep thingy under control, now go have a quality visit with your doc to see what else might be an issue.
(This post was last modified: 04-02-2014 11:40 AM by retired_guy.)
04-02-2014 11:40 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
space45 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 68
Joined: Mar 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro FX
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: hope to find out soon
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: B.C. Canada

Post: #3
RE: how do you edit out bad data in resmed
the events are central and blocked apnea events, no panic breathing or me having any idea I am throwing a event trigger. I feel fine, nothing out of the norm, I do hold my breath at times, just stop for a bit of a rest I guess, not sure why. is that in any way normal?


(04-02-2014 11:40 AM)retired_guy Wrote:  Events when you are awake do not mean anything. It's highly unlikely you are going to forget to breath for an extended period of time without noticing it when you're awake. So that's not really an issue. However, thinking we're having an event while being unable to go to sleep could point to some other difficulty we need to examine. For instance a tendency to "panic breath" while laying awake could indicate undue stress, or even a congested heart issue that needs treated. So hurray that you've got the sleep thingy under control, now go have a quality visit with your doc to see what else might be an issue.
04-02-2014 11:48 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #4
RE: how do you edit out bad data in resmed
(04-02-2014 11:48 AM)space45 Wrote:  the events are central and blocked apnea events, no panic breathing or me having any idea I am throwing a event trigger. I feel fine, nothing out of the norm, I do hold my breath at times, just stop for a bit of a rest I guess, not sure why. is that in any way normal?

Darned if I know. But I would explore it with your Doc next time you go in.

As far as being normal? I have learned that no one here is "normal." Except me that is. I'm normal........... Everybody else is non-normal......... ........and I think they're out to get me.
04-02-2014 11:51 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,845
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #5
RE: how do you edit out bad data in resmed
Are you using the ramp up feature?
My personal experience has been to not use it.
That way I'm at pressure from the start -- that let's me make sure my mask seal is good; and I'm getting therapy as I settle in.

BTW -- I believe Robysue gave you advice on setup. And you started with pressure limits "wide open."
As you get a few days data to see your pressure ranges, you might consider tightening up the pressure stops -- especially minimum EPAP.

Glad you're feeling better.

Let me add... as a person who had severe OSA and did not PAP for years... My doc said we tend to lose our central ventilation drive; but with time on PAP, it is retrained. (Or words to that effect.)

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
(This post was last modified: 04-02-2014 12:01 PM by justMongo.)
04-02-2014 11:57 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
space45 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 68
Joined: Mar 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro FX
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: hope to find out soon
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: B.C. Canada

Post: #6
RE: how do you edit out bad data in resmed
yes to ramp up and yes to wide open, will changer the ramp up and see if that helps. thanks for the help

now that leads me to another question my usage pressure goes up to over 23 cmH2O very regularly, does this mean anything, from what I have read a normal APAP will only do 20 cmH2O and so it looks to be a very good thing I got the VPAP that goes to 25 CMH2O, or am I out to lunch here?


(04-02-2014 11:57 AM)justMongo Wrote:  Are you using the ramp up feature?
My personal experience has been to not use it.
That way I'm at pressure from the start -- that let's me make sure my mask seal is good; and I'm getting therapy as I settle in.

BTW -- I believe Robysue gave you advice on setup. And you started with pressure limits "wide open."
As you get a few days data to see your pressure ranges, you might consider tightening up the pressure stops -- especially minimum EPAP.

Glad you're feeling better.
04-02-2014 12:06 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PaytonA Online
Wiki Editor
Monitors

Posts: 3,006
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i(distilled-top up)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto MinE14.0 MaxI 20.6 PS4.0
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Orange County,California

Post: #7
RE: how do you edit out bad data in resmed
If you want to eliminate the events while trying to go to sleep, extend the ramp. The machine is not supposed to score events during the ramp. I do not know of any way to edit the data to eliminate the awake time but I am not a Rescan expert.
04-02-2014 12:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
space45 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 68
Joined: Mar 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro FX
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: hope to find out soon
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: B.C. Canada

Post: #8
RE: how do you edit out bad data in resmed
it looks like it does record ramp up, and not every night does it take the same amount of time to go to sleep so it would be hard to set the ramp to the right amount of time for that night.

will attach a PDF of last night, you can see I wake up by the large number of events middle of the night
file was to big to attach, here is a download link
https://app.box.com/s/1wwek4g2kz1saql0simy
(This post was last modified: 04-02-2014 04:53 PM by space45.)
04-02-2014 04:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
c0reDump Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 157
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro Air
Humidifier: H5i (distilled)
CPAP Pressure: APAP 9-17cmH2O
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: TX

Post: #9
RE: how do you edit out bad data in resmed
(04-02-2014 12:26 PM)PaytonA Wrote:  If you want to eliminate the events while trying to go to sleep, extend the ramp. The machine is not supposed to score events during the ramp. I do not know of any way to edit the data to eliminate the awake time but I am not a Rescan expert.

Isn't that cheating? Smile

(04-02-2014 04:14 PM)space45 Wrote:  it looks like it does record ramp up, and not every night does it take the same amount of time to go to sleep so it would be hard to set the ramp to the right amount of time for that night.

I had this exact question when I first got my CPAP from the DME -- his suggestion was to set the ramp so that you are at therapy pressure before you are asleep. Personally, I run with the ramp set to OFF. I like the CPAP pressure (helps me breathe easier) -- am a little sad every morning when I have to take the mask off.
04-02-2014 05:39 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #10
RE: how do you edit out bad data in resmed
(04-02-2014 05:39 PM)c0reDump Wrote:  I like the CPAP pressure (helps me breathe easier) -- am a little sad every morning when I have to take the mask off.

I agree with Mr. Dump on this. I love just laying in bed early in the morning while the stupid cats are still asleep and just let my machine have its way with me. I do still use the ramp feature, but mostly just because I haven't gotten around to turning it off.
04-02-2014 06:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Equipment] ResMed AirSense - Is there data storage on the SD card AND in the unit itself? FormerFed 19 2,441 11-03-2016 03:17 PM
Last Post: PreciousRoy
  Resmed Airsense 10 CPAP data versus Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset data David P. 4 530 10-29-2016 08:42 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Sleepyhead data vs. Doctor's data Daisylouu 8 1,392 09-01-2016 06:10 PM
Last Post: eseedhouse
  invalid date/time. data exists for this period message on Resmed 9 autoset Marl1n 3 466 07-25-2016 09:03 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Data card to Resmed S8 Autoset Spirit II. kriper 1 444 05-23-2016 05:24 PM
Last Post: justMongo
  Revised Post Regarding "I need help with SH data" - with data included! Jeffo1 3 592 05-16-2016 11:28 PM
Last Post: Jeffo1
  Resmed A10 Autoset data in CPAP mode rem52 20 1,720 05-07-2016 09:32 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)