Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

mask cushion color change to yellow
mask cushion color change to yellow
Hi,
I am using Dreamwear nasal mask and bought some spare cushions from different sources. I did not use this cushions (so they are unused/new), but a few of them changed the color to yellow after several month (6-12 month). I contacted philips and they can not explain why. Does somebody have the same problem? or can explain it? solve it?
Thanks, Christian
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: mask cushion color change to yellow
Light makes silicon discolour turn yellow, keep then in a dark place
Post Reply Post Reply
^^^^^^ What he said!
Post Reply Post Reply
My ones turned yellow, they were in the dark, but they took over a year to turn yellowish.
I am NOT a doctor.  I try to help, but do not take what I say as medical advice.

Every journey, however large or small starts with the first step.

Sleep-well
Post Reply Post Reply
Silicone just starts to break down after a while. My masks have blue silicone pads, and when the silicone starts to yellow, the gel begins to look green.

There might be additives that would prolong the life of the silicone pieces, but they'd probably have other side effects. That color change is pretty much a good indicator that the silicone is going to start losing some of its flexibility soon, too.
Post Reply Post Reply
Theres a topic on another forum that discusses rejuvenating  silicone cushions and pillows by boiling them with baking soda.

I'm unsure if it's appropriate to link to other forums.
Post Reply Post Reply
I'm shooting for at least two months worth of use in regards to the silicone pillows on my mask. So far, it's holding up well and my mask gets cleaned daily with anti-bacterial wipes.