Post Reply 
need help
Author Message
Joe D Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Jan 2015

Machine: resmed aircurve 10 s
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 19
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Sad need help
how do I change the pressure on my resmed aircurve 10 s machine. I have followed all of the instructions on how to find the instructions. I keep arriving back at the same place. Any help would be appreciated.
01-13-2015 10:39 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleeprider Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,385
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: Resmed Aircurve 10 Vauto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: Resmed Climateline
CPAP Pressure: Auto Bilevel 18/9, PS 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Where they make Respironics

Post: #2
RE: need help
You will need to request that manual by email. Follow the instructions on this page.

Quote:Send an email to: apneaboard@gmail.com and put "Setup Manual" (without the quotes) in the subject line. Then, let us know in the body of your email which of the listed manuals you would like us to email to you. It is best if you copy the exact manual name from the above list and paste it into your email to make sure you receive the correct manual.

______________________________________________
Organize your SleepyHead Data
Post your SleepyHead Data from Imgur
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
01-13-2015 12:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #3
RE: need help
Hi Joe. I've been gone for 10 minutes or so, and I notice that suddenly there are a bunch of new model numbers I have not heard of before.........

With yours, the first thing I'd want to know is if it is using the built in interface back to your supplier. If it is, then they may have to do the pressure changes for you because if you do it yourself, they may just simply undo it.

But as to how you do it, if your machine is like it's predecessors, you can hold down the "settings" button for a few seconds and the machine will enter the secret chamber don't let anyone in without the magic symbol section. In there, you can mod your pressure settings.

Do so gently. It is not a great idea to change anything more than a few points at a time. I see you're sitting on 19, which seems awfully high to me, so lowering it might be in order. But I don't really know that for sure because I don't know what your statistics are at this point.

So if my machine? I'd fool around until I got into the clinician menus, then poke around a bit to see what all is there. and, as I suspect might be the case, if I could not sleep with a pressure of 19, then I'd lower it a little bit. Say to 16. And try that for a few days.
01-13-2015 12:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,451
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #4
RE: need help
Hi Joe D,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more responses to your post.
Much success to you as you continue your CPAP therapy and getting your pressure set.

trish6hundred
01-13-2015 02:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
vsheline Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,908
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Adapt (USA Model# 36007, not better 36037 or 36067)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F10 or SimPlus w/ 2Liners. MirageQuatro & Gecko gel pad
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 15 EPAP, PS 5-10
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Marfan Syndrome, chronic bradycardia, occasional Cheyne-Stokes Respiration

Sex: Male
Location: California, USA

Post: #5
RE: need help
(01-13-2015 10:39 AM)Joe D Wrote:  how do I change the pressure on my resmed aircurve 10 s machine

Hi Joe D,

Welcome to the forum.

To access the Clinical Menu on a ResMed A10 AirSense or A10 AirCurve machine:
Press and hold simultaneously the dial button and the Home button for three or four seconds.
(The Home screen is displayed with an unlock icon in the top right corner of the screen.)

To exit the Clinical Menu:
1. Press and hold the dial and the Home button for three or four seconds.
2. Select Exit Clinical Menu from the Home screen.
Or, the device will automatically exit the Clinical Menu after 20 minutes of inactivity.

Take care,
--- Vaughn

Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
(This post was last modified: 01-13-2015 02:48 PM by vsheline.)
01-13-2015 02:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
vsheline Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,908
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Adapt (USA Model# 36007, not better 36037 or 36067)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F10 or SimPlus w/ 2Liners. MirageQuatro & Gecko gel pad
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 15 EPAP, PS 5-10
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Marfan Syndrome, chronic bradycardia, occasional Cheyne-Stokes Respiration

Sex: Male
Location: California, USA

Post: #6
RE: need help
Hi Joe D,

Since your pressure setting is fairly high (your profile presently lists this as 19), and since high pressures often cause issues (such as excessive air-swallowing, increased inner eye pressures, increased inner ear pressures, increased force placed on the jaw and teeth during therapy, increased machine noise, increased bothersome mask leaking, etc), and since bi-level Auto machines tend to minimize treatment pressures (because they are able to raise the pressure adaptively and only as much as presently needed), and since it is likely that you have very recently received the machine, I suggest immediately returning the unit to the Durable Medical Equipment (DME) supplier and calling your doctor to request he/she prescribe settings for Minimum EPAP, Maximum IPAP and Pressure Support ("Preasure Support" is the name for the amount by which the pressure is increased during inhalation), so that your machine may be replaced with either the A10 AirCurve Auto model or else replaced with the Philips Respironics System One BiPAP Auto model with heated tube (DS760TS, if in USA). These are Auto bi-level machines, occupying the next step more capable than the "S" bi-level machine you are presently using.

A bi-level machine with Auto mode would use a minimum amount of EPAP (the pressure level used during exhalation) unless the machine senses higher EPAP pressure is needed, in which case it would raise the pressure only as high as needed to prevent Snore or Flow Limitation or hypopnea or obstructive apneas. (The pressure during inhalation is called IPAP and is always equal to whatever the EPAP pressure presently is, plus the Pressure Support.)

For example, if you were to take precautions to ensure you are never sleeping flat on your back, your pressure needs would likely be much lower, and if occasionally you were to roll into the "supine" position, the machine would likely automatically respond by raising the pressure as much as needed, but only while actually needed.

Your present machine cannot automatically adjust the therapy pressures, so usually doctors prescribe pressure settings which are permanently high, to cover the worst case high pressure needs.

Take care,
--- Vaughn

Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
(This post was last modified: 01-13-2015 03:40 PM by vsheline.)
01-13-2015 03:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Joe D Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Jan 2015

Machine: resmed aircurve 10 s
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 19
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #7
RE: need help
Thank you for the information I will do that.
01-13-2015 03:46 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Joe D Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Jan 2015

Machine: resmed aircurve 10 s
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 19
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #8
RE: need help
(01-13-2015 02:38 PM)vsheline Wrote:  
(01-13-2015 10:39 AM)Joe D Wrote:  how do I change the pressure on my resmed aircurve 10 s machine

Hi Joe D,

Welcome to the forum.

To access the Clinical Menu on a ResMed A10 AirSense or A10 AirCurve machine:
Press and hold simultaneously the dial button and the Home button for three or four seconds.
(The Home screen is displayed with an unlock icon in the top right corner of the screen.)

To exit the Clinical Menu:
1. Press and hold the dial and the Home button for three or four seconds.
2. Select Exit Clinical Menu from the Home screen.
Or, the device will automatically exit the Clinical Menu after 20 minutes of inactivity.

Take care,
--- Vaughn
I tried this and it worked. The little lock showed up. I almost feel like a criminal or something.I 'm going to try this pressure for a few more nights and see how it goes. I have a lot to learn about all of this. Thank you for your help.
01-13-2015 03:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Joe D Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Jan 2015

Machine: resmed aircurve 10 s
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 19
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #9
RE: need help
(01-13-2015 03:13 PM)vsheline Wrote:  Hi Joe D,

Since your pressure setting is fairly high (your profile presently lists this as 19), and since high pressures often cause issues (such as excessive air-swallowing, increased inner eye pressures, increased inner ear pressures, increased force placed on the jaw and teeth during therapy, increased machine noise, increased bothersome mask leaking, etc), and since bi-level Auto machines tend to minimize treatment pressures (because they are able to raise the pressure adaptively and only as much as presently needed), and since it is likely that you have very recently received the machine, I suggest immediately returning the unit to the Durable Medical Equipment (DME) supplier and calling your doctor to request he/she prescribe settings for Minimum EPAP, Maximum IPAP and Pressure Support ("Preasure Support" is the name for the amount by which the pressure is increased during inhalation), so that your machine may be replaced with either the A10 AirCurve Auto model or else replaced with the Philips Respironics System One BiPAP Auto model with heated tube (DS760TS, if in USA). These are Auto bi-level machines, occupying the next step more capable than the "S" bi-level machine you are presently using.

A bi-level machine with Auto mode would use a minimum amount of EPAP (the pressure level used during exhalation) unless the machine senses higher EPAP pressure is needed, in which case it would raise the pressure only as high as needed to prevent Snore or Flow Limitation or hypopnea or obstructive apneas. (The pressure during inhalation is called IPAP and is always equal to whatever the EPAP pressure presently is, plus the Pressure Support.)

For example, if you were to take precautions to ensure you are never sleeping flat on your back, your pressure needs would likely be much lower, and if occasionally you were to roll into the "supine" position, the machine would likely automatically respond by raising the pressure as much as needed, but only while actually needed.

Your present machine cannot automatically adjust the therapy pressures, so usually doctors prescribe pressure settings which are permanently high, to cover the worst case high pressure needs.

Take care,
--- Vaughn
That sounds like me (all of those symptoms). During my sleep study I must have rolled onto my back. The sound of a tea kettle whistling woke me up. I only snore on my back. The machine must have just kept raising the pressure until the mask seal let go. The bottom line is, if you can't sleep what's the use.



(01-13-2015 02:38 PM)vsheline Wrote:  
(01-13-2015 10:39 AM)Joe D Wrote:  how do I change the pressure on my resmed aircurve 10 s machine

Hi Joe D,

Welcome to the forum.

To access the Clinical Menu on a ResMed A10 AirSense or A10 AirCurve machine:
Press and hold simultaneously the dial button and the Home button for three or four seconds.
(The Home screen is displayed with an unlock icon in the top right corner of the screen.)

To exit the Clinical Menu:
1. Press and hold the dial and the Home button for three or four seconds.
2. Select Exit Clinical Menu from the Home screen.
Or, the device will automatically exit the Clinical Menu after 20 minutes of inactivity.

Take care,
--- Vaughn
This worked thank you.
(This post was last modified: 01-13-2015 04:17 PM by Joe D.)
01-13-2015 04:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
vsheline Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,908
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Adapt (USA Model# 36007, not better 36037 or 36067)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F10 or SimPlus w/ 2Liners. MirageQuatro & Gecko gel pad
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 15 EPAP, PS 5-10
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Marfan Syndrome, chronic bradycardia, occasional Cheyne-Stokes Respiration

Sex: Male
Location: California, USA

Post: #10
RE: need help
(01-13-2015 04:14 PM)Joe D Wrote:  That sounds like me (all of those symptoms). During my sleep study I must have rolled onto my back. The sound of a tea kettle whistling woke me up. I only snore on my back. The machine must have just kept raising the pressure until the mask seal let go. The bottom line is, if you can't sleep what's the use.

Hi Joe D,

How long have you had the A10 AirCurve S machine?

The longer you use it, the more difficult it may be to get it switched out for an Auto bi-level model.

If you have an old CPAP machine to use in the meantime, I suggest simply using the old machine, calling the doctor to request a bi-level Auto prescription, and returning the S machine.

The doctor may agree right away to change the prescription to one for an auto-titrating bi-level machine, but if not, then find out from your insurance company how long you would be able to continue using the present machine before a later change to an auto-titrating bi-level machine to enable you to better tolerate the therapy would not be covered.

Regarding insurance classification and reimbursement rates, the S bi-level models and the Auto bi-level models share the same machine classification and reimbursement rate, and usually the DME provider is not allowed to "up-charge" the patient to charge more for an Auto bi-level model versus an S bi-level model. Because dispensing an Auto bi-level may reduce the profit margin of the DME, sometimes the DME provider may falsely tell the patient that an Auto model is not covered by insurance.

If the prescription includes a pressure range (meaning, (1) a "Min EPAP" and (2) a "Max IPAP" which is greater than the Min EPAP plus the Pressure Support) then the DME provider can only dispense an auto-titrating bi-level machine.

Take care,
--- Vaughn

Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
(This post was last modified: 01-13-2015 05:31 PM by vsheline.)
01-13-2015 04:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)