Post Reply 
need help troubleshooting cpap error
Author Message
hippipdip Offline

Members

Posts: 6
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: PR remstar pro system one
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 10
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
need help troubleshooting cpap error
Hello,

I have had my machine for about a week. Last night I brought it with me while visiting family and I found that the machine does not seem to be working correctly now that I have plugged it and unplugged it.

Normally, I feel controlled bursts of air at a regular interval. Last night, I realized that the machine seemed to be putting through a steady flow of air rather than the steady pulsing flow I am used to.

The only difference is that I disconnected the humidifier segment and left it at home for ease of travelling. Also, I noticed at my family member's home when I turned the machine on the ramp settings had disabled.

I am using what appears to be a Phillips Respironics REMstar pro system one.

I would appreciate any assistance as I am without my manual, paperwork, and 800 number for the company that provided my machine.

Thank you.
03-31-2012 06:22 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Ltmedic66 Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 39
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: F&P Sleepstyle 604
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: Integrated in CPAP
CPAP Pressure: 11
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #2
RE: need help troubleshooting cpap error
(03-31-2012 06:22 AM)hippipdip Wrote:  Hello,

I have had my machine for about a week. Last night I brought it with me while visiting family and I found that the machine does not seem to be working correctly now that I have plugged it and unplugged it.

Normally, I feel controlled bursts of air at a regular interval. Last night, I realized that the machine seemed to be putting through a steady flow of air rather than the steady pulsing flow I am used to.

The only difference is that I disconnected the humidifier segment and left it at home for ease of travelling. Also, I noticed at my family member's home when I turned the machine on the ramp settings had disabled.

I am using what appears to be a Phillips Respironics REMstar pro system one.

I would appreciate any assistance as I am without my manual, paperwork, and 800 number for the company that provided my machine.

Thank you.

I do not have your machine, but if you felt steady "pulses" in the air that lasted throughout your therapy, I suspect you are talking about exhalation relief, which for your device would be C-Flex. C-Flex reduces the pressure when you exhale, making it easier for you to breath out. This would probably feel like "pulses" of pressure as C-Flex reduces pressure on exhalation and increases it on inhalation.

On your machine, the DME can set up the machine so that you have control to change C-Flex settings, or they can block you out of it. It sounds like perhaps you changed your C-Flex settings when you packed your machine. If user adjustment of C-Flex is enabled for your machine, you should be able to access a menu that allows you to select different settings for this. Many providers consider exhalation relief to be a comfort feature that can be controlled by the user (similar to humidity), and not an alteration of the prescribed pressure.

Again, I do not use any type of exhalation relief, but I it sounds like this is what you are describing.
03-31-2012 07:27 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
hippipdip Offline

Members

Posts: 6
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: PR remstar pro system one
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 10
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #3
RE: need help troubleshooting cpap error
Thank you so much. It turns out that cflex control is only accessible via the hidden clinicians menu, which I was able to access via the instructions here.

I have gotten such little information and vaguely shabby treatment from both the center that conducted my sleep study and my referring physician that even the process of getting better has been trying.

Much appreciated
03-31-2012 09:45 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
greatunclebill Offline

Members-b

Posts: 549
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: Respironics System one Auto A-Flex
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: System one
CPAP Pressure: 8-12
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreViewer

Other Comments: quattro fx full face

Sex: Male
Location: L.A. (Lower Alabama)

Post: #4
RE: need help troubleshooting cpap error
(03-31-2012 09:45 AM)hippipdip Wrote:  I have gotten such little information and vaguely shabby treatment from both the center that conducted my sleep study and my referring physician that even the process of getting better has been trying.

Much appreciated

this is exactly why we are here. if the places that should support you, would support you, there would be no reason to search the internet. everyone has a story and none of them talk about great after care support once you take the machine home.
03-31-2012 10:31 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
JudgeMental Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 324
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: Respironics DreamStation Auto-CPAP
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Respironics Amara View
Humidifier: Respironics
CPAP Pressure: 11-14
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Florida USA

Post: #5
RE: need help troubleshooting cpap error
The CFlex access should not have been hidden by your DME. It is for your comfort benefit and is 'designed by the manufacturer' to be avble for the patient to adjust the comfort level of the exhalation pressure. Glad you found out how to change it. Like LTMedic. I don;t use it or the ramp feature, as it is an aggravation to me, however they both are probably necessary to you at this time as you begin acclimating to the CPAP for your therapy.

The on/off knob that is used to access the menu and make changes is very touchy. Its quite possible it was rotated and pressed when you plugged it in at your temp location.

I don't quite understand the pulses that you are describing, but just to insure that your machine is operating properly, I offer this: with the mask removed, you should be getting a "steady" flow.. no pulsing..
The "pulsing?" or reduction of pressure should be felt ..with mask on.. and you are exhaling..

Yesterday is history; Tomorrow is a mystery; Today is a gift; Thats why its called "The Present".
(This post was last modified: 03-31-2012 10:45 AM by JudgeMental.)
03-31-2012 10:39 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
iSnooze Offline
Apnea Board Proofreader
Advisory Members

Posts: 239
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: Respironics PR System One C-Flex+
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Micro
Humidifier: System One Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 11
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: also use a Comfort Gel Full Mask by Respironics

Sex: Female
Location: Indiana

Post: #6
RE: need help troubleshooting cpap error
Hi Hippipdip
Welcome

Here's a link to the manual for your machine. This should explain how to set up some of the features. I have the same machine and you can change the ramp feature from the normal controls.

http://respironicsremstars.respironics.c...Manual.pdf
03-31-2012 08:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
hippipdip Offline

Members

Posts: 6
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: PR remstar pro system one
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 10
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #7
RE: need help troubleshooting cpap error
Yes, it was the Cflex setting that reset. The ramp setting had reset as well, but that I was able to find easily in the regular menu.

I wasn't aware that cflex is merely a comfort option. Both the machine I tested on and the one I was given at home had it, so I was assuming that was integral to the efficacy of the therapy.
03-31-2012 11:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Dreamcatcher Offline

Members-b

Posts: 899
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: Resmed Autoset Spirit II with Quattro F/F & FX Masks
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: H4i
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 18 cmH20 (auto range)
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #8
RE: need help troubleshooting cpap error
Welcome

Hi Not sure how to shorten this one, anyways hello pip and welcome to cpap central Big Grin It seems that some machine do reset themselves if switched off for some time but never mind because as you have found out it can be overcome. probably a good idea to read up some more on your machine just incase something like this happens again. If you have any other problems, just shout and someone will help.

again welcome to the forum Smile
04-01-2012 12:36 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Ltmedic66 Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 39
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: F&P Sleepstyle 604
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: Integrated in CPAP
CPAP Pressure: 11
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #9
RE: need help troubleshooting cpap error
(03-31-2012 11:34 PM)hippipdip Wrote:  Yes, it was the Cflex setting that reset. The ramp setting had reset as well, but that I was able to find easily in the regular menu.

I wasn't aware that cflex is merely a comfort option. Both the machine I tested on and the one I was given at home had it, so I was assuming that was integral to the efficacy of the therapy.

It depends on what source you read. I've seen some that report exhalation relief as merely a comfort option. However, I think several people on this board have reported that their OSA/CSA numbers change when they adjust their exhalation relief settings. Needless to say, it sounds like you are restoring the settings to wha they were prior to traveling with you machine. If you are looking at changing them frm your original setting, you should check with the doc first, in my opinion.
04-01-2012 09:52 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #10
RE: need help troubleshooting cpap error
On the PRS1 Pro the C-Flex setting can be changed on both the user menu and the clinician menu.

When I started using these machines I too thought the machine was behaving differently at different times. The C-Flex setting also affects the pressure while inhaling, and you'll notice the pressure dropping off as you inhale very slowly.

These bothers go away as you get acclimated to the device. If they are bothering you try lowering the C-Flex setting for a while.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
04-01-2012 10:05 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Equipment] respironics bipap error code hanasdaddy 6 103 Yesterday 01:48 AM
Last Post: hanasdaddy
  [CPAP] Error code E33 1captnronrosser 3 274 10-14-2016 04:10 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [CPAP] Service Required Error Codes - Inner Workings of a CPAP machine SuperSleeper 18 65,522 10-10-2016 01:48 PM
Last Post: juan345
  ResMed S9 Humidifer 5i Error Message atta_gurrrrl 3 2,117 07-08-2016 10:58 AM
Last Post: Moe52
  A10 error- tubing blocked check your tubing dwd1249 9 637 07-08-2016 09:33 AM
Last Post: sonicboom
  Airsense Autoset 10, "Error: power connector in rear is not plugged in" Possum 11 1,166 06-08-2016 05:54 PM
Last Post: sdb7802
  [CPAP] Resmed System Error 101F???? CJM99 10 831 06-08-2016 04:53 AM
Last Post: CJM99

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)