Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

new cpap machine
#1
Thinking-about Unsure  I got a new cpap to replace my 6 yr old resmed s9 that started to fail. I got the Philips resperonics dream station auto cpap. Not what I wanted. anyhow my ahi's with the resmed had been less than .55 daily for the last 4 yrs. this new dream station, ahi have held up above 1.75 to 3.80 since I got this sh**ty machine in aug 2017. I have tried various settings and a few diff masks. but cannot get the ahi below 1.0. anybody got a $1000.00 worth of free advice ??? please respond soonest . thanx. anyone wanna trade for the resmed 10........
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
Hi jamescox145,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for answers to your question and good luck as you continue CPAP therapy and also with getting used to your new machine.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
(10-12-2017, 03:57 PM)jamescox145 Wrote: Thinking-about Unsure  I got a new cpap to replace my 6 yr old resmed s9 that started to fail. I got the Philips resperonics dream station auto cpap. Not what I wanted. anyhow my ahi's with the resmed had been less than .55 daily for the last 4 yrs. this new dream station, ahi have held up above 1.75 to 3.80 since I got this sh**ty machine in aug 2017. I have tried various settings and a few diff masks. but cannot get the ahi below 1.0. anybody got a $1000.00 worth of free advice ??? please respond soonest . thanx. anyone wanna trade for the resmed 10........


Are you using the exact same pressure on the DreamStation that you used on the ResMed S9? If so, you should understand that Phillips Respironics Cpap's are a bit slower to respond to Apnea events than ResMed machines. With that said, you may need to use a slightly higher pressure with the DreamStation.

If you want someone to look at your data to see what is going on, Download SleepyHead software, and we will try to help.
OpalRose
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

How to Organize and Post ScreenShots

http://sleep.tnet.com/resources/sleepyhead/shorganize
https://sleep.tnet.com/reference/tips/imgur

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply


#4
I am from northeast ohio, dover !!  i spent alot of time in cleveland area delivering gas and desiel . I have sleepyhead data and can read some of it. I am trying to put in somewhat of a readable order for screen shots. some of the data I do not understand. I can tell a big diff in the 2 machines. and yes I did increase pressure with new machine. also have tried auto set on both. I prefer steady pressure.. give me sometime and I will post some shots Big Grin Big Grin of data.
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
See my signature line for help.  The links will show you how to organize the graphs, and take a screenshot of the daily page.
Use an outside source like imgur to post your data here.

We need to see the following graphs from the daily page: events, flow rate, pressure, snores, and leak rate.  The screenshot should include the stats on the left side.  You can leave off the calendar and pie chart.
OpalRose
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

How to Organize and Post ScreenShots

http://sleep.tnet.com/resources/sleepyhead/shorganize
https://sleep.tnet.com/reference/tips/imgur

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply
#6
Ok thanks it will ve tomorrow b4 i get it posted
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
I think that OpalRose has it.  I have used a Resmed S9 and DreamStation Auto side by side with very similar results.  You just need to get the settings right for your AND the machine you using.
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
Ok thanks
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
James, the best bet is to see if the DME will take the machine back. If not, you can get the Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset on Amazon for about $440, and make the Philips a backup. You are 2-months in, so it may not be impossible to exchange, but if you had come here first, we coulda told ya.
Post Reply Post Reply


#10
I don't know what the prices are, but Supplier #1 is heavily advertising on local radio in the Willamette Valley of Oregon great overstock prices on Resmed machines. Is there a new model in the works.....
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
Exclaimation CPAP Machine Choices - read this before you accept a new machine SuperSleeper 49 21,548 10-18-2017, 09:21 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  aromatherapy oils in cpap machine somnia16 24 7,380 10-11-2017, 04:26 AM
Last Post: OMyMyOHellYes
Question [Equipment]  Goodnight 318 CPAP Machine ret-doc 10 4,796 09-25-2017, 05:28 PM
Last Post: Kruser
  [CPAP] Can CPAP Machine Detect REM Sleep? SpiritusTabula 4 277 09-21-2017, 07:39 AM
Last Post: Gary1of2
  Newbie here waiting on my Cpap machine! Have questions debwis42 15 406 09-16-2017, 10:01 PM
Last Post: debwis42
  10 year cpap user - new machine jminminnesota 5 251 09-15-2017, 06:14 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Is there any software for the Ibreeze 20c Pro cpap machine? Mikevd 3 149 09-15-2017, 05:45 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.