Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] Questions from New CPAP User
Questions from New CPAP User
I am relatively new to CPAP therapy. I had a home sleep study and my doctor's office said I had "severe" sleep apnea with an AHI of 32, and a very low oxygen level. I was not provided with a copy of my sleep study results. I started using a DreamStation Auto CPAP on April 7, 2021 and have used it every night since then. I can't say that I sleep or feel any better, and I certainly don't wake up more refreshed or with more energy than I did before. I am not a mouth breather, but I have always done a lot of tossing and turning.

I have received very little information or support from my doctor's office. They did adjust my pressure settings on May 2 to 8.0 minumum and 12.0 maximum from 5.0 minimum and 15.0 maximum. This did improve my AHI readings. I only saw the doctor once, when he ordered the sleep study, and my second appointment is June 29. All other communications were by email with the doctor's staff. The office that provided the equipment has been more helpful than the doctor's office, but if it weren't for watching Lefty27 YouTube videos, I would be totally in the dark.

My concern is that after almost 60 days of CPAP use, my AHI averages around 6.7. I have tried several different masking including the DreamWear Full-Face Cushion, the DreamWear Nasal Cushion, the ResMed P30i Nasal Pillow, and currently the ResMed N30i Nasal Cushion. My AHI score hasn't varied much between these masks, but I find the nasal cushion mask much more comfortable and easier to sleep with.