Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

new cpap user - Best Machine/Software?
new cpap user - Best Machine/Software?
Hello,

I am a newbie to the cpap world, I have suffered with sleep apnea
for about 10 years and have only recently done something about it.
I had a sleep study done and had an AHI of 103. now with my machine set at 6.0cm my AHI is down to 3 ! my question is, what is
the absolute best machine/software to get? and if i bump my
pressure up to 6.5cm would this get my AHI even lower?

regards,

Geoff
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: new cpap user
Hi gnconway73,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
It's good that you finally started treating your sleep apnea.
Hang in there for answers to your question and best of luck to you.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
Let's face it, Geoff, all CPAP machines do what they were designed to do. I've not mined the machine data for our membership yet, but I suspect the majority of users have either some kind of a ResMed S9 or the machine you are currently using. The biggest difference between the two is price, with the ResMed being almost twice the price of the PR (I know this from personal experience with trying to find the right machine in Feb 2011).

As for pressure settings, 6 seems very low for an AHI of 103. If you are going to adjust your pressure settings upwards, do it in small increments until your AHI is in the 0.1 to 1.0. The lower the AHI, the better!
INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. 
ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA.
Post Reply Post Reply
Doesn't the PRS1 work with SleepyHead?
This would be a good time to begin monitoring. Wink