Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

overnight oximetry
overnight oximetry
if a person it's going to have an overnight oximetry and I use a CPAP at the same time well thats skew the results? when having this test should a person stay off of their C pap for that one night

Thx
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: overnight oximetry
(02-03-2015, 10:30 PM)me50 Wrote: if a person it's going to have an overnight oximetry and I use a CPAP at the same time well thats skew the results? when having this test should a person stay off of their C pap for that one night

Well, if you are on an xPAP now I suppose you would want to know how your blood O2 does during your normal sleep, i.e. with the machine.

But I am not a doctor.
Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

Part cow since February 2018.

Trust your mind less and your brain more.

Post Reply Post Reply
I recently had an overnight oximetry test done; I was told not to use my machine.

My O2 sats without APAP were 79%. Nervous
Post Reply Post Reply
I have a friend that did overnight oxi and was told stay off cpap for a few nights before, then run one night without and follow it by one night with cpap. that'll do it.

Me, I got the oximeter, and wear most nights. I sleep without cpap (not for a full 8 hours) once every couple weeks, to measure progress. the diet, exercise, lost weight, and the better sleep, are expected to change me to not needing as much pressure.

So far, having cpap is essential. There is a difference on versus off the cpap. as seen in this screenshot -

[Image: cMzh8jx.png]

QAL

-
Dedicated to QALity sleep.
Post Reply Post Reply
(02-04-2015, 01:11 AM)dreamzone Wrote: I recently had an overnight oximetry test done; I was told not to use my machine.

My O2 sats without APAP were 79%. Nervous
Hi dreamzone,
WELCOME! to the forum.!