Post Reply 
prescription setting
Author Message
kerm007 Offline

Members

Posts: 8
Joined: Feb 2014

Machine: resmed s9
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: s9 resmed
CPAP Pressure: auto-cpap
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
prescription setting
where is stored the prescription I have ?
sd card or internal machine memory ?

Thanks
02-16-2014 09:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
me50 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 2,559
Joined: Aug 2013

Machine: resmed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Wisp and Silicone Head gear
Humidifier: resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18/8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #2
RE: prescription setting
if you mean your pressure setting(s), you can see it in the clinical menu or ResScan and/or SleepyHead will tell you too. Hope this helps

EDIT: I get in the clinical menu by pushing the bottom oblong silver button and the round knob. Once in there, there are 4 icons on the left. I find which icon that I want to look at and make my changes or view the info that is there.
(This post was last modified: 02-16-2014 11:05 PM by me50.)
02-16-2014 09:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #3
RE: prescription setting
(02-16-2014 09:20 PM)kerm007 Wrote:  where is stored the prescription I have ?
sd card or internal machine memory ?

Thanks

The start, ramp, max pressures and such are programmed into the machine itself. It is actually not necessary for the SD card to be in the machine for it to work as set up by your sleep docs.
02-16-2014 09:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
herbm Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 852
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed AutoSet S9
Mask Type: Oral
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Airfit P10 Nasal Pillow
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 11-16
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Backup Mask: Innomed Hybrid FFM -- Oral+Nasal Pillows

Sex: Male
Location: Austin, TX

Post: #4
RE: prescription setting
It's officially store in the machine (otherwise the machine would not function properly when the SDCard isn't inserted), but it is typically (S9 Autoset for instance) written to the data card and will be read by the machine to update the settings if you change them using Rescan or another program.

Generally, I change my settings with Rescan but you can also change them on the machine if you enter the Clinical Menus.

Sweet Dreams,

HerbM
Sleep study AHI: 49 RDI: 60 -- APAP 10-11 w/AHI: 1.5 avg for 7-days (up due likely to hip replacement recovery)

"We can all breathe together or we will all suffocate alone."
02-16-2014 09:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
me50 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 2,559
Joined: Aug 2013

Machine: resmed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Wisp and Silicone Head gear
Humidifier: resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18/8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #5
RE: prescription setting
(02-16-2014 09:40 PM)herbm Wrote:  It's officially store in the machine (otherwise the machine would not function properly when the SDCard isn't inserted), but it is typically (S9 Autoset for instance) written to the data card and will be read by the machine to update the settings if you change them using Rescan or another program.

Generally, I change my settings with Rescan but you can also change them on the machine if you enter the Clinical Menus.

huh? sorry but your post confused me. can you explain what you mean? thanks
02-16-2014 10:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Franklyspeaking Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 68
Joined: Feb 2014

Machine: Resmed S10 autosense
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Respironic blue gel mask
Humidifier: Resmed S10 autosense
CPAP Pressure: 4-18
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: Longview, Texas

Post: #6
RE: prescription setting
(02-16-2014 09:20 PM)kerm007 Wrote:  where is stored the prescription I have ?
sd card or internal machine memory ?

Thanks
Here's how to access your prescription.
Hold down the two silver buttons by the round dial at the same time. That will show the first set of menus to get into the clinical menu to change the pressure ect, you do the first step with the two buttons and once you are in that view then hold down the round dial and setup button(2 check marks) at the same time this will show a lock at the right side of the screen it will be unlocked and ready for you to change the settings to your personal preferences.

The SD card is located at the back of the machine. You have to access that using a computer. Your sleep results from each night will be there.

Good luck hope this helps.
02-16-2014 11:00 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
herbm Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 852
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed AutoSet S9
Mask Type: Oral
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Airfit P10 Nasal Pillow
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 11-16
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Backup Mask: Innomed Hybrid FFM -- Oral+Nasal Pillows

Sex: Male
Location: Austin, TX

Post: #7
RE: prescription setting
(02-16-2014 10:34 PM)me50 Wrote:  
(02-16-2014 09:40 PM)herbm Wrote:  It's officially store in the machine (otherwise the machine would not function properly when the SDCard isn't inserted), but it is typically (S9 Autoset for instance) written to the data card and will be read by the machine to update the settings if you change them using Rescan or another program.

Generally, I change my settings with Rescan but you can also change them on the machine if you enter the Clinical Menus.

huh? sorry but your post confused me. can you explain what you mean? thanks

The prescribed settings used by the machines are stored within the machine on some type of non-volatile memory (memory that is maintained when the machine is off or even unplugged.)

A copy is placed on the SDCard.

If the SDCard is updated (e.g., by Rescan) then when it is returned to the machine and read the machines non-volatile memory is updated.

The machine runs from the non-volatile memory.

Sweet Dreams,

HerbM
Sleep study AHI: 49 RDI: 60 -- APAP 10-11 w/AHI: 1.5 avg for 7-days (up due likely to hip replacement recovery)

"We can all breathe together or we will all suffocate alone."
02-16-2014 11:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
me50 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 2,559
Joined: Aug 2013

Machine: resmed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Wisp and Silicone Head gear
Humidifier: resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18/8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #8
RE: prescription setting
"Generally, I change my settings with Rescan"

Herbm, how do you change your settings with Rescan? Do you mean that you make changes in the clinical menu and then when you download your data in Rescan (or SleepyHead that some use) your changes are there?
(This post was last modified: 02-16-2014 11:29 PM by me50.)
02-16-2014 11:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
herbm Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 852
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed AutoSet S9
Mask Type: Oral
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Airfit P10 Nasal Pillow
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 11-16
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Backup Mask: Innomed Hybrid FFM -- Oral+Nasal Pillows

Sex: Male
Location: Austin, TX

Post: #9
RE: prescription setting
(02-16-2014 11:28 PM)me50 Wrote:  "Generally, I change my settings with Rescan"

Herbm, how do you change your settings with Rescan? Do you mean that you make changes in the clinical menu and then when you download your data in Rescan (or SleepyHead that some use) your changes are there?

No, that is not what I meant (but that also works.)

You can change you settings EITHER on the machine in the clinical menus or by updating the SDCard with Rescan (I haven't seen a way to do this in SleepHead.)

In Rescan: Tools menu -> Device Settings (choose a device) and you will see the dialog for updating your settings on the device.

You SDCard must be write enable for this to work of course.

Most of the time this is the way I change my pressures. Generally I change other settings (like auto humidity on the machine.)

I am unsure if ALL setting can be changed from Rescan or not, but the ones that were important to me were there.

Sweet Dreams,

HerbM
Sleep study AHI: 49 RDI: 60 -- APAP 10-11 w/AHI: 1.5 avg for 7-days (up due likely to hip replacement recovery)

"We can all breathe together or we will all suffocate alone."
02-17-2014 12:21 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
ThatOtherGuy Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 50
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: RESMED S9 Autoset on APAP mode
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Phillips Amara + chinstrap
Humidifier: RESMED S9
CPAP Pressure: 5 to 17
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post: #10
RE: prescription setting
your prescription may not actually be programmed into the machine. in my case my prescription is 15, but my machine was programmed for a min'm of 5 and max'm of 20 using a VPAP option with no ramp. I have since changed the settings to lower the max'm 17.4 to reduce the leaks I was getting when the system would peak out occcasionally and not come down of its own accord. The only absolute guaranteed way to know your prescription level is to see the doctors prescription. Keep a copy of it if possible for your own benefit.
02-17-2014 02:29 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Smile [CPAP] Diagnosis + prescription = Frustration... ApneaBoard + experimenting = Salvation! OldVet 8 286 11-28-2016 08:24 PM
Last Post: OldVet
  [Equipment] what setting for mask airsense 10 abrun7 1 180 11-17-2016 06:57 PM
Last Post: OpalRose
  ResMed Airsense 10 Setting Date Problem Reuven Gruber 6 303 11-16-2016 04:13 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Need help with mask setting please trader37 3 285 11-03-2016 02:34 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Any setting changes when adding O2 to CPAP Ham Radio 2 189 10-28-2016 11:54 PM
Last Post: Ham Radio
  [CPAP] Setting up this auto a-flex is really intimidating. SierraMadreMe 6 388 10-27-2016 04:25 AM
Last Post: SierraMadreMe
  setting for starting choce Bill Hall 2 219 10-26-2016 08:20 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)