Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

pressure settings on Resmed S9 autoset
#1
hi Do you have to set the pressure settings on the Resmed S9 ?
My specialist had my old machine set at min 6 max 18. Ive just got a new one and not sure if I have to have it re set or not... I know its an Autoset.. so it adjusts to how i am during the night.. But do i still have to have a min and a max set or not??

Thanks Chelle
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
For most people running an APAP wide open is less comfortable than running it in a tighter range. If the min pressure is too low, too many events will have to happen before the APAP's auto algorithm kicks in and raises the pressure to something close to what's really needed to keep your OSA under control. If the max pressure is too high, there may not be any problem, but if you are prone to aerophagia or centrals, a max pressure that is too high can be problematic.

I have a question: What's wrong with setting the new machine with the old one's settings of min pressure = 6 and max pressure = 18 for the time being and seeing what the data says is going on after a week or so?
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
Did they set they pressures for you when you got your new machine? You can either have a min and max or the min and max can be the same which means you basically have it in straight CPAP mode which really defeats the purposes of having the Autoset. If those pressures were working for you, I would set them at that again. If you go to the top of the page you can download the clinical manual. Your pressures will show on in the software anyway.
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
thanks.Robysue.. ive just found the link on apnea board for setting pressures in the REsmed S9..( i didnt know i could do it myself Smile ) . I will set the new machine with what the specialist had on my old one. Will see how i go doing it... thanks for your input.

Thanks Tez62 for your input Smile

cheers
Chelle
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
I would use the same settings for now and see how things pan out
Keep an eye on AHI (events breakdown), pressure and leak stats

Have you download SleepyHead or Resscan so you can monitor whats going on
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
Question Adjust Settings or Leave Them Be? Melman 4 95 2 hours ago
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [Pressure] New AirSense 10 Auto User-Need Help w/initial Pressure Min/Max Settings Orionsnet 46 918 Yesterday, 03:58 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
Smile Q: ResMed CPAP S9 AutoSet vs. VPAP ST ??? dubli 16 4,118 03-20-2017, 10:10 PM
Last Post: Frieda
  Newbee intro an need thoughts on settings TPeters 10 459 03-09-2017, 10:25 PM
Last Post: TPeters
  Dreamstation vs ResMed Airsense 10 AutoSet, I got to try both here's my thoughts Moonlight Graham 10 895 03-07-2017, 03:25 PM
Last Post: C0mbe
  CPAP modems and remote changes to your settings without your knowledge robysue 30 8,803 03-06-2017, 06:12 AM
Last Post: Kayak18
  Auto SV settings and Periodic Breathing in REM ecojedi 2 166 03-02-2017, 08:25 PM
Last Post: ecojedi

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.