Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

pressure settings on Resmed S9 autoset
#1
hi Do you have to set the pressure settings on the Resmed S9 ?
My specialist had my old machine set at min 6 max 18. Ive just got a new one and not sure if I have to have it re set or not... I know its an Autoset.. so it adjusts to how i am during the night.. But do i still have to have a min and a max set or not??

Thanks Chelle
Reply
#2
For most people running an APAP wide open is less comfortable than running it in a tighter range. If the min pressure is too low, too many events will have to happen before the APAP's auto algorithm kicks in and raises the pressure to something close to what's really needed to keep your OSA under control. If the max pressure is too high, there may not be any problem, but if you are prone to aerophagia or centrals, a max pressure that is too high can be problematic.

I have a question: What's wrong with setting the new machine with the old one's settings of min pressure = 6 and max pressure = 18 for the time being and seeing what the data says is going on after a week or so?
Reply
#3
Did they set they pressures for you when you got your new machine? You can either have a min and max or the min and max can be the same which means you basically have it in straight CPAP mode which really defeats the purposes of having the Autoset. If those pressures were working for you, I would set them at that again. If you go to the top of the page you can download the clinical manual. Your pressures will show on in the software anyway.
Reply


#4
thanks.Robysue.. ive just found the link on apnea board for setting pressures in the REsmed S9..( i didnt know i could do it myself Smile ) . I will set the new machine with what the specialist had on my old one. Will see how i go doing it... thanks for your input.

Thanks Tez62 for your input Smile

cheers
Chelle
Reply
#5
I would use the same settings for now and see how things pan out
Keep an eye on AHI (events breakdown), pressure and leak stats

Have you download SleepyHead or Resscan so you can monitor whats going on
Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Fine tuning settings Cranberry Ray 4 277 01-07-2017, 05:08 AM
Last Post: kwhenrykerr
  Problems with my humidifier settings...... binky12 9 477 01-02-2017, 06:20 PM
Last Post: binky12
  Help with Bipap settings SupraSeth94 18 605 12-29-2016, 05:26 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Mask settings on Dreamstation? Russatrice 10 736 12-25-2016, 11:39 PM
Last Post: eseedhouse
  Can someone help look at my settings and data daveofgv 7 306 12-19-2016, 05:14 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Cloggd Nose elling with ResMed Airsense 10 AutoSet edmund36 7 602 12-17-2016, 03:31 PM
Last Post: edmund36
  Settings question Slim1950 2 245 12-15-2016, 10:08 AM
Last Post: Slim1950

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.