Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

problems with nasal irrigation
Question 
problems with nasal irrigation
Hello! I'm new here. I've been using my CPAP for about 9 months now. I've been having a lot of problems with nasal congestion. I use a corticosteroid nasal spray, and I've tried antihistamines and decongestants.

After reading some of the posts here I decided to try nasal irrigation. I hated it at first but it works great. The problem I'm having now is that even if I do it a few hours before I go to bed, I still get water leaking out of my nose in the middle of the night. Does anyone have any advice on how to deal with that?

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: problems with nasal irrigation
Hi nibbles,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for suggestions and best of luck to you.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
(04-25-2014, 10:59 AM)nibbles Wrote: The problem I'm having now is that even if I do it a few hours before I go to bed, I still get water leaking out of my nose in the middle of the night. Does anyone have any advice on how to deal with that?
I use the bottle and blow my nose afterwards, no problem
As for congestion, increase humidity may helps, for some the opposite is true
I use climate line on auto, seem to helps somewhat
Do you wake up with dry mouth too

Post Reply Post Reply
Water gets trapped in the nooks and crannies of our sinus cavities and passageways. Everyone's anatomy is different, so we are all affected by this differently. Also, the more open the passageways, the easier it is for the water to enter.