Post Reply 
questions about resmed s9 vs s10
Author Message
eseedhouse Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 879
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: SimPlus
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 7-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also on supplemental O2 at 3L/min. while sleeping.

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Post: #11
RE: questions about resmed s9 vs s10
(08-26-2015 08:53 AM)Nytro_Mike Wrote:  If I can get settings from my s10 can you help me set it up? I am hoping to avoid bringing it in to have it done.

With the Airsense 10 autoset you get into the 'clinician' manual by holding down the Home key and the round button together for about five seconds or so. From there you can change anything that can be changed. Be careful since with all that power in your hands you can easily muck things up. First thing to do is to get the clock running at the right time.

Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Actually you know, it is what it isn't.
08-26-2015 07:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Nytro_Mike Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 27
Joined: Jul 2015

Machine: Resmed S10
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: Cpap
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments: No longer the loudest sleeper at my camp:)

Sex: Male
Location: New hampshire

Post: #12
RE: questions about resmed s9 vs s10
I have been into the clinicians menu but am having a little problem interpreting some of the settings that I will need for the s9
08-28-2015 04:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
swaziman Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 51
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed F10
Humidifier: inbuilt
CPAP Pressure: 8 -12
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #13
RE: questions about resmed s9 vs s10
Your A10 is an auto CPAP whilst your S9 is a VPAP. There will be differences in aligning the settings between the two. I would suggest ascertaining your optimum titration level from your A10 and setting the VPAP to straight CPAP until you can work with a bilevel machine. I have tried a BiPAP just to see what it is like and find it more difficult to adjust to than auto CPAP.

Something unknown is doing we don't know what.
(Professor Sir Arthur Eddington, astrophysicist)
08-28-2015 07:30 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaytonA Offline
Wiki Editor
Monitors

Posts: 3,005
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i(distilled-top up)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto MinE14.0 MaxI 20.6 PS4.0
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Orange County,California

Post: #14
RE: questions about resmed s9 vs s10
Here are the settings that you need for your S9 VPAP Auto in order to make it pretty much emulate your A10 Autoset.

Set your min EPAP to the min pressure on your A10
Set your max IPAP to the max pressure on your A10
Set the pressure support (PS) to 3.0 that will emulate the A10 with EPR=3
Ti max should be set to 2.0 (default)
Ti min should be set to 0.3 (default)
Set Trigger and Cycle to med. which is the default

The rest of your settings you should be able to get from your A10

That should get you started .

Best Regards,

PaytonA
08-28-2015 07:47 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Nytro_Mike Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 27
Joined: Jul 2015

Machine: Resmed S10
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: Cpap
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments: No longer the loudest sleeper at my camp:)

Sex: Male
Location: New hampshire

Post: #15
RE: questions about resmed s9 vs s10
Well a little update , I went in to see my Dme for my simplus leaking as I haven't been able to get a good seal with my beard, she with a new prescription from my doctor swapped me to an eason nasal mask. So I figured I would have her setup the s9 I bought, well after looking it over she didn't feel it could properly be set it up like my s10, so after weighing my options she offered to trade it even for an auto set s9 which offered everything I needed, she spotted me a free sd card for it as well as a free chin strap and gave me my simplus back too which I can seal with a little work, I bought a new heated slimline as well so basically setup with second complete unit for $165.00 and she also threw in a new reservoir, I am very happy with the way they helped me outSmile
09-02-2015 04:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #16
RE: questions about resmed s9 vs s10
(09-02-2015 04:15 PM)Nytro_Mike Wrote:  Well a little update , I went in to see my Dme for my simplus leaking as I haven't been able to get a good seal with my beard, she with a new prescription from my doctor swapped me to an eason nasal mask.
Nasal pillows masks works well with beards ... just a thought

Coffee
09-02-2015 04:43 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
GeoffD Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 194
Joined: Sep 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit P10
Humidifier: Integral + ClimateLine
CPAP Pressure: 14-17
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: New England

Post: #17
RE: questions about resmed s9 vs s10
(08-25-2015 06:55 AM)DeepBreathing Wrote:  An ordinary non-heated hose, either slimline or regular, will fit both machines. I believe the heated hoses are not compatible between machines.

Importantly, what model of AirSense and what model S9 do you have? There is a very wide range of models (especially in the S9) and the two machines you have may not be equally suitable for you.

That's correct. An unheated hose just has a round rubber fitting that works on either machine. The electrical connector on the S9 is different from the A10 so the ClimateLine heated hoses are not interchangeable.

Another annoyance is the power connector is different between the two machines. I have 12v to 24v DC-DC converters for both machines.

Hopefully, the S9 and A10 both say "AutoSet" on them. On an S9, it is near the dial. On an A10, it is front/bottom/right next to the humidifier tank.

I have both machines. For my settings, they are functionally identical. With the same settings, I see the same results. The A10 is a bit more compact if I stuff it in my roll-aboard without the case. The A10 has an internal cellular data modem so you can see your high level results from a ResMed web interface.
09-04-2015 02:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Adoniscmj Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 168
Joined: May 2015

Machine: Resmed AirSense10 Autoset for her
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 6 to 9
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Everett, Washington

Post: #18
RE: questions about resmed s9 vs s10
(08-24-2015 03:28 PM)Nytro_Mike Wrote:  Hi everyone, I just started therapy 20 days ago and am having great luck getting adjusted to everything, sleeping way more than ever and energy is through the roof in comparison. I own a second home at the other end of my state so rather than carrying my s10 and take the chance of breaking something I bought an s9 for up there and would like to know if the slimline from the s10 will fit the s9, I will continue to bring the mask until I buy a second mask for up there and hope the line will work. I bought the s9 for $100, I think I got a good dealDont-know

That is a great deal on a S9 but unfortunately the climate line tube is different between the two machine but they are fairly cheap. You should be able to get one for around $22 to 25 dollars from one of the online CPAP retailers. Great Buy on the S9!
09-05-2015 08:00 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Changed to resmed 10 auto, several questions Shockwave 10 645 08-31-2016 07:03 PM
Last Post: Shockwave
Thumbsdown ResMed AirSense 10 Questions mavmannate 4 903 02-29-2016 06:30 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Newbie just got a Resmed P10 and has questions jhtrader 2 522 11-24-2015 09:24 PM
Last Post: DariaVader
  Resmed S9 Questions melancholykeith 3 742 07-26-2015 08:36 AM
Last Post: under pressure
  Newbie with Questions! LOTS OF QUESTIONS! sleepyandsad 12 4,221 04-12-2015 06:58 PM
Last Post: worn_out_in_lebanon
  Couple of Questions - Resmed S10 Legcramp 12 2,863 03-17-2015 04:40 PM
Last Post: truetopath
Question Questions about Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset sleepless-in-manila 11 2,710 03-02-2015 07:55 PM
Last Post: sleepless-in-manila

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)