Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

restoring masks method report
restoring masks method report
Hi all,

I have been using a PR DS2 since November (5 months). At my CPAP unit orientation, the therapist indicated that despite a weekly hot-soapy-water wash, the silicone in the mask would get stiffer due to skin oil absorption and would need to be replaced every month or two.

However, I have since bought only a single new mask (because a second mask allows plenty of treatment time for the first mask) because I have been successfully restoring them.  Here is my method:

Knowing that montmorillonite clays have an insane adsorption potential due to their high internal surface area, and that this adsorption works well on lipids (think how well kitty litter pulls up oil spills on concrete), I decided to run a test that has been very successful.

We happened to have on hand some finely ground montmorillonite (also known as bentonite) clay powder (this particular jar sold as "Indian healing earth" but I'm sure the brand is irrelevant). I take a mask after it has been washed and dried, and simply put it in a small container with several tablespoons of the clay. I then shake well until all surfaces are coated, and let it sit for a couple of weeks, maybe shaking again if I think of it.  That's it.

When I need the treated mask, I first shake out the clay and wash the mask carefully with cold water, then with hot soapy water to ensure all the clay is gone. Then rinse and dry, and it seems as good as new. The silicone is again supple, less translucent, and seals like new.