Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

screaming meme.....sleepless in Yuma
screaming meme.....sleepless in Yuma
Don't know if you folks can help with this or not.

I'm pretty new to this, just a couple weeks but don't really know what to expect?

I have lots of trouble falling asleep and also staying asleep. I've manage 1 night of 6 hours, two of 4 hours, the rest 2 hours or nothing. 

After about 30 to 40 minutes of staring at the ceiling I get frustrated trying to go to sleep, take the darn thing off and go to sleep without it. No problem.

so what should I expect? Is this "normal"? I really can't take trying to sleep much longer than 30 minutes, my mind takes over and its no use.

do some just never get it? I would really like to make this work as much for my wife as for me. But I'm more tired now that I've ever been.

Suggestions? Condemnations? Whatever?

Keith
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: screaming meme.....sleepless in Yuma
Some people take to CPAP therapy like a duck to water.  Others, like me, have to convince my body to accept its new sleeping ensemble.  It took me almost a year before my body readily accepted the therapy.   Try wearing in the evening while watching TV or Reading so it becomes a more natural feeling.   Try avoiding any food, snack or beverages other than water for a long before bed as possible.  As an initial aid, you might try using something like 25 mg of Benadryl or Melatonin right before bed.   If you are experiencing any aches or pains, one (325 mg) aspirin tablet seems to help.  Also, how old is your mattress?   Being uncomfortable, especially when you starting out, doesn't help matters at all.  

Here is to wishing you better sleep.
Sleep-well
Crimson Nape
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com