Thread Closed 
sleepyhead
Author Message
TomWhitt1 Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Oct 2012

Machine: new respironics
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 7
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #1
sleepyhead
Hey all, I am brand new as of today. Just dx w apnea, been on the machine for several months and still cannot get a good night of sleep. I think I am having mixed apneas and would really like to get my own readout from the machine. I have seen threads on sleepyhead sw and I apoligise if asking something already answered but...

I finally got it to update using "run as admin" but cannot upload data. In other threads it says to try the "root" file. First, I dont know what that is and second, I have tried to upload from every file I can find associated with the card. I have also made sure the card is not locked. Any suggestions? Is there a chance my machine just purchased is too new for the sw?
Thanks all
10-27-2012 10:24 AM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
JJJ Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 751
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Most recent: Wisp, Pilairo, Mirage Vista
Humidifier: ResMed S9 Autoset
CPAP Pressure: 17-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: USA 97217

Post: #2
RE: sleepyhead
(10-27-2012 10:24 AM)TomWhitt1 Wrote:  I finally got it to update using "run as admin" but cannot upload data. In other threads it says to try the "root" file. First, I dont know what that is and second, I have tried to upload from every file I can find associated with the card. I have also made sure the card is not locked. Any suggestions? Is there a chance my machine just purchased is too new for the sw?

The word "root" is used in computer science to refer to the bottom of the partition. In the case of a Windows machine that means the drive letter alone, not inside any of the directories.

Your second question is the more likely source of your problem. Philips Respironics recently came out with a new "60 Series" model. You can tell if your machine is one by looking at the model number on the bottom of the machine. (Take the humidifier tank out before turning it over!) If it says "560" you have a "60 Series" machine. The new machine offers the possibility of a heated hose, but is otherwise pretty much the same as the previous model. Unfortunately for us, they also changed the format of the data, so SleepyHead cannot yet read the data. Mark Watkins ("JediMark"), the author of the program, knows of the problem and how to fix it, but he has been occupied with other life issues and has not had time to release a new version of SleepyHead.
10-27-2012 10:44 AM
Find all posts by this user
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,450
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #3
RE: sleepyhead
Hi TomWhitt1,
WELCOME! to the forum.!

trish6hundred
10-27-2012 02:14 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
TomWhitt1 Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Oct 2012

Machine: new respironics
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 7
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #4
RE: sleepyhead
(10-27-2012 10:44 AM)JJJ Wrote:  
(10-27-2012 10:24 AM)TomWhitt1 Wrote:  I finally got it to update using "run as admin" but cannot upload data. In other threads it says to try the "root" file. First, I dont know what that is and second, I have tried to upload from every file I can find associated with the card. I have also made sure the card is not locked. Any suggestions? Is there a chance my machine just purchased is too new for the sw?

The word "root" is used in computer science to refer to the bottom of the partition. In the case of a Windows machine that means the drive letter alone, not inside any of the directories.

Your second question is the more likely source of your problem. Philips Respironics recently came out with a new "60 Series" model. You can tell if your machine is one by looking at the model number on the bottom of the machine. (Take the humidifier tank out before turning it over!) If it says "560" you have a "60 Series" machine. The new machine offers the possibility of a heated hose, but is otherwise pretty much the same as the previous model. Unfortunately for us, they also changed the format of the data, so SleepyHead cannot yet read the data. Mark Watkins ("JediMark"), the author of the program, knows of the problem and how to fix it, but he has been occupied with other life issues and has not had time to release a new version of SleepyHead.

The closest number to "560" that i can find is "460P" does that help?
10-27-2012 02:53 PM
Find all posts by this user
jfmusil Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 50
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: REMstar Auto A-flex 560P
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: RESMED Quattro
Humidifier: System One
CPAP Pressure: 12
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreViewer

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #5
RE: sleepyhead
I have heard from Philips and they will be updating their EncoreViewer Software. Should be avialable early next year.
10-27-2012 02:54 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
TomWhitt1 Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Oct 2012

Machine: new respironics
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 7
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #6
RE: sleepyhead
The closest number to "560" that i can find is "460P" does that help?
10-27-2012 02:54 PM
Find all posts by this user
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,067
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #7
RE: sleepyhead
Yes, this means you have the 60 model and it is not (yet) compatible with Sleepyhead. You'll have to find a copy of the Respironics Encore software.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
10-27-2012 03:16 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #8
RE: sleepyhead
(10-27-2012 03:16 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  Yes, this means you have the 60 model and it is not (yet) compatible with Sleepyhead. You'll have to find a copy of the Respironics Encore software.

Only some versions of Encore work with a 60 Series CPAP. Some versions of Encore Pro and Encore Basic do work with 60 series. I believe there is no Encore Viewer yet available that works with 60 series, but they're still selling the versions that don't work.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
10-27-2012 05:28 PM
Find all posts by this user
Steve99 Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Nov 2012

Machine: Phillips System One
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: System one
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #9
RE: sleepyhead
I don't want to appear to be hijacking Tom's note but I am having about the same problem so maybe we can kill several apneas with one stone - or something like that.Eat-popcorn

Sleepyhead says "Unable to locate new data" every time I try to import. Am I supposed to specify the folder or just the user name? In any event nothing gets uploaded.

Note to Tom, you want to be sure to lock your SD card because SlpHead rewrites the files - see their warnings.
11-04-2012 06:05 PM
Find all posts by this user

Donate to Apnea Board
JJJ Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 751
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Most recent: Wisp, Pilairo, Mirage Vista
Humidifier: ResMed S9 Autoset
CPAP Pressure: 17-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: USA 97217

Post: #10
RE: sleepyhead
(11-04-2012 06:05 PM)Steve99 Wrote:  Sleepyhead says "Unable to locate new data" every time I try to import. Am I supposed to specify the folder or just the user name? In any event nothing gets uploaded.
Note to Tom, you want to be sure to lock your SD card because SlpHead rewrites the files - see their warnings.

You specify the root of the drive that the SD card becomes when you insert it. On a Windows computer that means the drive letter, like E:\. Note also that if you have a 60 Series machine (model number on the bottom will say something like 460P or 560P) you will need to apply a patch to SleepyHead before it will be able to read the data.

Regarding locking the card, I have been using SleepyHead to read my card every day since I started last April and I have never locked the card. There has never been a problem.
11-04-2012 06:16 PM
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 


Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)