Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Pulling off my mask, not remembering it.
RE: Pulling off my mask, not remembering it.
I came on today to write about this same problem. I have been using Cpap for several years with mixed results. I never attained the wonderful sleep I had hoped for. However it has saved me and I do sleep enough. I wear a lightweight mirage mask and use a resmed 9.
I often fall asleep without my mask, then wake up and put it on, only to find I have taken it off and wake after a few hours. It is frustrating and I have no memory of removing it. It's like my body doesn't want to put it on and if I do it doesn't want to keep it on. Apnea denial?
I wonder if I must not be struggling for air with it on and take it off?
Once it's off I have no idea how long I continue to sleep before I wake but I always wake with my heart racing, clearly having a problem getting air.
I saw the suggestion of raising the min pressure .
Does anybody else have any experience solving this problem.

Harry
Post Reply Post Reply
I have had problems with pressure too low as well.
From what I understand 4cm does almost nothing for you but
it is a low enough pressure to allow a good deal of your CO2 to back up the hose.
Your exhalations don't have time to fully get flushed out the small exaust vent so it has nowhere else to go but back up the hose.
The flow rate at 4cm is so low that it cannot flush this big slug of CO2 out of your mask before your next breath.
This effectively increases the 'dead space' in your mask.
On your next breath you inhale a big slug of stale air, much like breathing into a paper bag.
The natural reaction is: "This thing is too stuffy!! GET IT OFF!! NOW!!!!"
bumping your minimum up to about 6cm wont hurt you since you are already hitting 16 max but at 6cm