Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[split] New member - Res-Med AirSense S10 CPAP or Autoset
[split] New member - Res-Med AirSense S10 CPAP or Autoset
I'm new to sleep apnea.  Just diagnosed.  Finally have a prescription.  Went to the therapist for my machine.  He steered me to the Resmed airsense 10 cpap not the autoset.  From what I have read the autoset machine is what I should have.  I had gone in thinking the dreamstation but he steered me to the resmed airsense 10 cpap without any mention to the autoset.  He presented the dreamstation not having all the bells and whistles of the airsense 10.  I should of done my homework.  Didn't know I was dealing with a car salesman.  My insurance is covering this and I should have the best machine.  My brother is happy with his dreamstation but what I see the resmed is a better machine but the autoset not cpap.  I would appreciate any advice.  I will return this tomorrow for what I hope is the autoset.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: [split] New member - Res-Med AirSense S10 CPAP or Autoset
G'day BJ54. Welcome to Apnea Board. I've split your post out into its own thread so that you can get individual attention.

As I understand the American rules, the DME must provide what the doctor has prescribed, so check your prescription and ensure the DME has complied.  I also understand that the insurance companies pay out the same amount of money regardless of whether the machine is CPAP or APAP (Autoset). The DME makes a greater margin supplying a CPAP so there is a commercial incentive for them to give you the lowest cost machine.