Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[split] Taking mask off in my sleep
[split] Taking mask off in my sleep
Hi, I'm new to this too and I have a similar problem.
I keep taking my mask off during sleep.
I last 90 to 120 mins with it on, always wake up with it off.
My last sleep study they said I was scratching at the mask.
99% of the time I don't know I've taken it off.

Problem I think I have is when I take the mask off it's so much easier to breathe through my mouth.
I do keep my mouth closed with the nasal pillow mask on.
It's just too hard to breathe through the nose and I rip it off.
I can remember doing it sometimes, thinking Oh this is so good after I take it off. Then my awake brain kicks in and says 'put the mask back on'... sometimes I do, sometimes I think let me just take one more deep breath before I put it back on and... Zzzzzzzzzzzz.

I've always been 'itchy' my whole life even photo's of me as a kid. There I am scratching at my itchy nose. To make it worse I've also been referred to as Mr. Mucas. I clear my throat a lot, I get a lot of snot, and blocked noses. I get a lot of 'sleep' in my eyes, and I cough up lil balls of phlegm every morning. By lil I'm talking thumb nail size - pretty decent lumps of phlegm.

I think this is all compounding together to make me itch and scratch to attempt to take the mask off, and when I do I get a sense of relief... ahhhh.. breathe!

I know that without the mask I'm getting 87 apnea's per hour, and I know now thats bad... but I'm really having trouble keeping the mask on.

More details:
Resmed Air sense 10
Humidity 5 ... any higher I get water in the tube
Temp 24-25 C, turned it down lately to 21-22 C (still warmer that air temp of 15-16c)