Post Reply 
switch machines?
Author Message
w7sot Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 35
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmet S9 auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 10-18
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: EVO Medical ComfortFit Full Face Mask

Sex: Male
Location: Springfield, OR

Post: #1
switch machines?
OK - have not heard this discussed anywhere on the board - and kind of a last ditch effort to try and figure out if the machine is doing anything for my wife at night (she has had it for 3-months) - not feeling any benefit from it - unfortunately, she she stuck with the resmed S9 Escape - so they is may to get ANY info from the brick to show us if it working at all.

I have an S9 Autoset - so my question is - can I put in a different memory card into my machine - go into the clinic set-up, and set up mine with the set CPAP pressure she has on her machine, and let her use mine for a couple of night - just so we can look at her graphs, and see what is going on?

when the "test" is all done - I could go in and reset the machine to factory setting, and then set-the machine back up with all my info - put my card back in - and all should be going good again

Does anyone see any flaws in my thinking with this whole process? or do you have any other suggestion on how to check and see what is going on with treatment for a couple of night.

Getting her an S9 autoset is not an option, she had the machine for over a month - so she is stuck with it now.
06-26-2012 05:50 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
JJJ Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 751
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Most recent: Wisp, Pilairo, Mirage Vista
Humidifier: ResMed S9 Autoset
CPAP Pressure: 17-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: USA 97217

Post: #2
RE: switch machines?
(06-26-2012 05:50 PM)w7sot Wrote:  I have an S9 Autoset - so my question is - can I put in a different memory card into my machine - go into the clinic set-up, and set up mine with the set CPAP pressure she has on her machine, and let her use mine for a couple of night - just so we can look at her graphs, and see what is going on?
when the "test" is all done - I could go in and reset the machine to factory setting, and then set-the machine back up with all my info - put my card back in - and all should be going good again
Does anyone see any flaws in my thinking with this whole process? or do you have any other suggestion on how to check and see what is going on with treatment for a couple of night.
Getting her an S9 autoset is not an option, she had the machine for over a month - so she is stuck with it now.

I don't see any reason why you couldn't do what you suggest.

If you use SleepyHead you can set up a different account for her so her data will not impact your data in SleepyHead.

You might try checking with Supplier #2 for an Autoset for her. They will take trade-ins, so it might not cost as much as you think to get her an Autoset. There is also Craigslist, my favorite place to buy stuff locally.
06-26-2012 08:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,993
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #3
RE: switch machines?
(06-26-2012 05:50 PM)w7sot Wrote:  I have an S9 Autoset - so my question is - can I put in a different memory card into my machine - go into the clinic set-up, and set up mine with the set CPAP pressure she has on her machine, and let her use mine for a couple of night - just so we can look at her graphs, and see what is going on?

I use a PRS1, not a ResMed, but I don't see why this shouldn't work. Zonk would know for sure.

In SleepyHead you just create a new profile for her.

Quote:when the "test" is all done - I could go in and reset the machine to factory setting, and then set-the machine back up with all my info - put my card back in - and all should be going good again.

With PRS1 machines and SleepyHead this works just fine. I have used two different machines with the same card, and SleepyHead handles it just fine. So, when you put the card back in your machine, and load the new data into your SleepyHead profile, it should just pick up where you left off. It'll show you as noncompliant, of course, for those few days that your wife was using your machine, but I would think that wouldn't mess up any of your averages. With SleepyHead being a beta, you'll just have to find out the hard way. Smile

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
06-26-2012 09:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zimlich Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 392
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: Respironics PR System One BiPap Auto SV Advanced
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed gel Nasal Mask
Humidifier: System One
CPAP Pressure: 8-20 ASV, 8 EPAP,PS 12
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I use the Quattro FFM when necessary

Sex: Female
Location: Norfolk, VA

Post: #4
RE: switch machines?
Sounds brilliant to me. Also, is your wife getting good, quality sleep? As tiring as it is, a review and practice of basic sleep hygiene may help. CPAP cannot work without good sleep. Good luck.
06-27-2012 09:34 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
JudgeMental Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 324
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: Respironics DreamStation Auto-CPAP
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Respironics Amara View
Humidifier: Respironics
CPAP Pressure: 11-14
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Florida USA

Post: #5
RE: switch machines?
Sure, you could do this. Be sure it dosn,'t influence any compliance issues that you may have, similar to her compliance issue. If none..go for it.

Yesterday is history; Tomorrow is a mystery; Today is a gift; Thats why its called "The Present".
06-27-2012 12:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
w7sot Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 35
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmet S9 auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 10-18
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: EVO Medical ComfortFit Full Face Mask

Sex: Male
Location: Springfield, OR

Post: #6
RE: switch machines?
(06-27-2012 09:34 AM)zimlich Wrote:  Sounds brilliant to me. Also, is your wife getting good, quality sleep? As tiring as it is, a review and practice of basic sleep hygiene may help. CPAP cannot work without good sleep. Good luck.

She is going to bed - and going right to sleep, but she still wakes up a lot during the night - and still issues at time - and she is not feeling on bit better than she did without the CPAP, that is why are going through all the changing and switching just to see what she is doing during the night.
(06-27-2012 12:04 PM)JudgeMental Wrote:  Sure, you could do this. Be sure it dosn,'t influence any compliance issues that you may have, similar to her compliance issue. If none..go for it.

At this point - I don't think it will make any different we got her issues fixed, although nobody is going to admit it - they went ot put in the 81%, and accidently put in 61%.

She would my machine, and I would use hers for the night - so both machines will be getting used - so as far as compliance, all should be good.
(This post was last modified: 06-27-2012 10:14 PM by w7sot.)
06-27-2012 10:12 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #7
RE: switch machines?
Don't reset anything. Just change the pressure. You're the only one who is going to be looking at the data.

If you wear hers when she's wearing yours, it will show compliance hours, which is all hers shows anyway.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
06-28-2012 12:52 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Newbie so confused between 2 machines Matzaball2016 1 33 Today 01:28 AM
Last Post: big_dave
  Switching Machines owlgirl63 4 211 12-04-2016 05:11 AM
Last Post: kwhenrykerr
  [Equipment] ResMed AirSense 10 broken on-off switch koshari 12 1,120 11-07-2016 05:19 PM
Last Post: Insomniac II
Question CHANGING MACHINES - SD CARD srlevine1 3 232 10-31-2016 07:11 PM
Last Post: srlevine1
Question AHI Higher AFter Switch from Nasal Pillows to Full Mask Sleepypokey 8 500 10-26-2016 03:07 PM
Last Post: Kadenz
  Comparative Analysis of 8 APAP Machines Sleeprider 15 951 09-16-2016 09:41 AM
Last Post: KSMatthew
  Research Article comparing CPAP machines stephennic 0 224 09-10-2016 07:27 AM
Last Post: stephennic

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)