Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

thoughts to control hypopnea
thoughts to control hypopnea
hello have been on apnea treatment for 2 years, ahi ranges from 6 to 12. on review find that a large portion of the ahi is due to hypopnea, wonder thoughts of settings can be tweaked to help reduce ahi. attaching screen shot for typical session and settings.  i am a back sleeper using elevated back/bed position and flat pillow for most comfort. thanks for the review.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: thoughts to control hypopnea
I'm a newbie, so take what I say with a grain of salt, but maybe switching to a ResMed machine and using EPR=3 might help?
Post Reply Post Reply
Your charts show positional apnea. Positional apnea is when you cut off your own airway by the position that you sleep. Many times it happens to people sleeping on their back as you mentioned in your post. If you have to sleep on your back you may need a collar to keep your neck in place and not cause your apnea. 

Anytime your chin drops to your Sternum you are starting to cut off your airway. Please read the link about collars at the bottom of the post. It shows the same people (Oscar) with and without a collar. 

Positional apnea is easily to control if you wear a collar. How does Oscar show positional apnea? By closely grouped clusters of either or both H or O events. As you can see that is in your chart in the H row.
Apnea (80-100%) 10 seconds, Hypopnea (50-80%) 10 seconds, Flow Limits (0-50%) not timed  Cervical Collar - Dealing w DME - Chart Organizing
Post Reply Post Reply
Hi Doug,