Post Reply 
treatment pressure higher than the setting pressure
Author Message
debby2242 Offline

Members

Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2016

Machine: Resmed Airsense 10 auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit N10
Humidifier: HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 4-8
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location:

Post: #1
Gross treatment pressure higher than the setting pressure
I use the Airsense 10 Autoset CPAP for several weeks already. The pressure setting is 4 ~ 8. In this two days, I find the maximal treatment pressure becomes 10 and wake me up..... What happened to the CPAP machine? And What can I do to make the pressure fixed between 4 and 8 ?    
03-29-2016 10:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
sonicboom Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 474
Joined: May 2015

Machine: Airsense 10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit P10, Dreamwear
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 4.6-7.6
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Washington

Post: #2
RE: treatment pressure higher than the setting pressure
In my experience this is caused by rainout. There are many threads on this topic. In short, you will need to control the moisture in your tube. First, get a climate line hose. Set it to auto. Get a snuggle hose cover as well. Read the other threads for suggestions. Read Resmeds web page on controlling rainout. These are the methods I used to tame the machine going to 10 with a pressure max setting well below that.

See also today's discussion on thread - water in tube. It applies to your situation.

http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-Water-in-Tube

Coffee
(This post was last modified: 03-30-2016 01:17 AM by sonicboom.)
03-30-2016 01:09 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
robysue Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 1,233
Joined: Oct 2013

Machine: PR Dreamstation BiPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: PR Dreamstation humidfier
CPAP Pressure: min EPAP = 4; max IPAP = 9;
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic EncorePro

Other Comments: Papping since September 2010

Sex: Female
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post: #3
RE: treatment pressure higher than the setting pressure
(03-30-2016 01:09 AM)sonicboom Wrote:  In my experience this is caused by rainout.
Why would rainout cause the machine to increase the pressure past the maximum pressure setting?

Please note: I understand that rainout might be mistaken for snoring or a flow limitation and lead to a pressure increase. But we're not talking about a run of the mill pressure increase here: We're talking about the machine increasing the pressure past the maximum pressure setting, and that's very unusual.

In other words, since the max pressure setting is 8 cm, why would the machine decide that it needs to deliver 10cm?

To debby2242: Any chance you show us the detailed data for 3/28/2016? By the detailed data, I mean the the graphs for the flow rate, pressure, and leak rate? You can do this in either ResScan (if you downloaded "all" the data) or SH. I believe that SH 0.9-8 works with the AirSense 10 AutoSets.

Questions about SleepyHead?
See my Guide to SleepyHead
(This post was last modified: 03-30-2016 01:45 AM by robysue.)
03-30-2016 01:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
FrankNichols Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 714
Joined: Mar 2016

Machine: AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed F10 and/or P10
Humidifier: Builtin
CPAP Pressure: 17-19
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments: I've figured out how to get my AHI down to 5, I quit sleeping!

Sex: Male
Location: Live Oak, Florida

Post: #4
RE: treatment pressure higher than the setting pressure
(03-30-2016 01:44 AM)robysue Wrote:  
(03-30-2016 01:09 AM)sonicboom Wrote:  In my experience this is caused by rainout.
Why would rainout cause the machine to increase the pressure past the maximum pressure setting?

Please note: I understand that rainout might be mistaken for snoring or a flow limitation and lead to a pressure increase. But we're not talking about a run of the mill pressure increase here: We're talking about the machine increasing the pressure past the maximum pressure setting, and that's very unusual.

In other words, since the max pressure setting is 8 cm, why would the machine decide that it needs to deliver 10cm?

To debby2242: Any chance you show us the detailed data for 3/28/2016? By the detailed data, I mean the the graphs for the flow rate, pressure, and leak rate? You can do this in either ResScan (if you downloaded "all" the data) or SH. I believe that SH 0.9-8 works with the AirSense 10 AutoSets.

It's a CPAP which doesn't collect data I believe.

I am not a Medical professional and I don't play one on the internet.
Started CPAP Therapy April 5, 2016
I'd Rather Be Sleeping
03-30-2016 06:37 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,851
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #5
RE: treatment pressure higher than the setting pressure
(03-30-2016 06:37 AM)FrankNichols Wrote:  It's a CPAP which doesn't collect data I believe.

The Autoset collects full data.

And, RobySue -- a very good question. I'm thinking it's not the machine; but the reporting software.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
03-30-2016 07:32 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
OpalRose Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,178
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto 560 with A Flex
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10 For Her
Humidifier: REMStar heated humidifier with heated hose
CPAP Pressure: Auto Cpap 10-13 AFLEX 1
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Started CPAP Therapy October 23, 2014

Sex: Female
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Post: #6
RE: treatment pressure higher than the setting pressure
debby2242,
Is your attachment from ResScan software?

Is there a possibility that your pressure has been changed remotely by your DME? I've heard of this happening.

The APAP should not rise above the max setting.

Double check your pressure settings in the CLINICIAL menu.

OpalRose
03-30-2016 07:38 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
robysue Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 1,233
Joined: Oct 2013

Machine: PR Dreamstation BiPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: PR Dreamstation humidfier
CPAP Pressure: min EPAP = 4; max IPAP = 9;
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic EncorePro

Other Comments: Papping since September 2010

Sex: Female
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post: #7
RE: treatment pressure higher than the setting pressure
(03-30-2016 07:32 AM)justMongo Wrote:  
(03-30-2016 06:37 AM)FrankNichols Wrote:  It's a CPAP which doesn't collect data I believe.

The Autoset collects full data.

And, RobySue -- a very good question. I'm thinking it's not the machine; but the reporting software.
The software the OP is using is ResScan, the professional software for the Resmed machines. You would think that ResScan would be reliable enough to get the max pressure data correct.

The reason I'd like to see the detailed data is to figure out whether the "max" value is some kind of a "freak peak" or whether the machine actually raised the pressure that high in response to some kind of event or snoring or flow limitation.

If the machine is indeed raising the pressure above the max setting, then my guess is that it's a faulty machine. If this were me, I'd be taking it back to the DME and asking them what the heck is going on. And demanding that the machine be replaced under warranty.

Questions about SleepyHead?
See my Guide to SleepyHead
03-30-2016 07:41 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
robysue Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 1,233
Joined: Oct 2013

Machine: PR Dreamstation BiPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: PR Dreamstation humidfier
CPAP Pressure: min EPAP = 4; max IPAP = 9;
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic EncorePro

Other Comments: Papping since September 2010

Sex: Female
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post: #8
RE: treatment pressure higher than the setting pressure
(03-30-2016 07:38 AM)OpalRose Wrote:  debby2242,
Is your attachment from ResScan software?

Is there a possibility that your pressure has been changed remotely by your DME?
If that happened then the max pressure setting should have changed. But the max pressure setting is clearly set to 8cm in this ResScan report.

Questions about SleepyHead?
See my Guide to SleepyHead
03-30-2016 07:42 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
OpalRose Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,178
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto 560 with A Flex
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10 For Her
Humidifier: REMStar heated humidifier with heated hose
CPAP Pressure: Auto Cpap 10-13 AFLEX 1
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Started CPAP Therapy October 23, 2014

Sex: Female
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Post: #9
RE: treatment pressure higher than the setting pressure
She should verify the settings in the Clinicial menu, as DME's have been known to change settings remotely.
Also, the ResScan software may not be giving reliable data.

If you have verified all stats, then I would asked for the machine to be exchanged.

OpalRose
03-30-2016 07:49 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
green wings Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 547
Joined: Feb 2016

Machine: Respironics System One RemStar Pro (460)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10
Humidifier: integrated humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 13.0 cm
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: using CPAP since Jan. 2016

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: US

Post: #10
RE: treatment pressure higher than the setting pressure
This is a newbie question. The "pressure" being talked about here is a "setpoint" pressure and not a "detected" pressure, right? Just want to make sure I understand what I'm seeing in the data from my machine. The pressure graph I see from my data is either spiky or a series of ramps, not an organic-looking graph like what I see with flowrate.
03-30-2016 08:42 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Turn my pressure back up? duece12345 4 100 Today 09:00 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  TOO MUCH PRESSURE markhy 16 386 Yesterday 06:30 PM
Last Post: eseedhouse
  [Pressure] Change Pressure on AirCurve 10 VAuto info 29 4,865 Yesterday 12:05 PM
Last Post: PaytonA
  Dream Station Ramp and Pressure Settings knowoneuno 21 434 Yesterday 11:00 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [Pressure] How to change pressure - Respironics Solo slgoltz 5 20,002 11-30-2016 06:32 PM
Last Post: randx2
  AHI higher with DreamWear Mask Judy1843 1 165 11-29-2016 08:04 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  Pressure experiment Dagmar 9 445 11-24-2016 09:58 PM
Last Post: Napmeister

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)