Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

treatment pressure higher than the setting pressure
#1
Gross 
I use the Airsense 10 Autoset CPAP for several weeks already. The pressure setting is 4 ~ 8. In this two days, I find the maximal treatment pressure becomes 10 and wake me up..... What happened to the CPAP machine? And What can I do to make the pressure fixed between 4 and 8 ?    
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
In my experience this is caused by rainout. There are many threads on this topic. In short, you will need to control the moisture in your tube. First, get a climate line hose. Set it to auto. Get a snuggle hose cover as well. Read the other threads for suggestions. Read Resmeds web page on controlling rainout. These are the methods I used to tame the machine going to 10 with a pressure max setting well below that.

See also today's discussion on thread - water in tube. It applies to your situation.

http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-Water-in-Tube
Coffee

Happy Pappin'
Never Give In, Never Give Up


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. 
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
(03-30-2016, 01:09 AM)sonicboom Wrote: In my experience this is caused by rainout.
Why would rainout cause the machine to increase the pressure past the maximum pressure setting?

Please note: I understand that rainout might be mistaken for snoring or a flow limitation and lead to a pressure increase. But we're not talking about a run of the mill pressure increase here: We're talking about the machine increasing the pressure past the maximum pressure setting, and that's very unusual.

In other words, since the max pressure setting is 8 cm, why would the machine decide that it needs to deliver 10cm?

To debby2242: Any chance you show us the detailed data for 3/28/2016? By the detailed data, I mean the the graphs for the flow rate, pressure, and leak rate? You can do this in either ResScan (if you downloaded "all" the data) or SH. I believe that SH 0.9-8 works with the AirSense 10 AutoSets.
Questions about SleepyHead?
See my Guide to SleepyHead
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
(03-30-2016, 01:44 AM)robysue Wrote:
(03-30-2016, 01:09 AM)sonicboom Wrote: In my experience this is caused by rainout.
Why would rainout cause the machine to increase the pressure past the maximum pressure setting?

Please note: I understand that rainout might be mistaken for snoring or a flow limitation and lead to a pressure increase. But we're not talking about a run of the mill pressure increase here: We're talking about the machine increasing the pressure past the maximum pressure setting, and that's very unusual.

In other words, since the max pressure setting is 8 cm, why would the machine decide that it needs to deliver 10cm?

To debby2242: Any chance you show us the detailed data for 3/28/2016? By the detailed data, I mean the the graphs for the flow rate, pressure, and leak rate? You can do this in either ResScan (if you downloaded "all" the data) or SH. I believe that SH 0.9-8 works with the AirSense 10 AutoSets.

It's a CPAP which doesn't collect data I believe.
I am not a Medical professional and I don't play one on the internet.
Started CPAP Therapy April 5, 2016
I'd Rather Be Sleeping
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
(03-30-2016, 06:37 AM)FrankNichols Wrote: It's a CPAP which doesn't collect data I believe.

The Autoset collects full data.

And, RobySue -- a very good question. I'm thinking it's not the machine; but the reporting software.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
debby2242,
Is your attachment from ResScan software?

Is there a possibility that your pressure has been changed remotely by your DME? I've heard of this happening.

The APAP should not rise above the max setting.

Double check your pressure settings in the CLINICIAL menu.
OpalRose
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

How to Organize and Post ScreenShots

http://sleep.tnet.com/resources/sleepyhead/shorganize
https://sleep.tnet.com/reference/tips/imgur

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply


#7
(03-30-2016, 07:32 AM)justMongo Wrote:
(03-30-2016, 06:37 AM)FrankNichols Wrote: It's a CPAP which doesn't collect data I believe.

The Autoset collects full data.

And, RobySue -- a very good question. I'm thinking it's not the machine; but the reporting software.
The software the OP is using is ResScan, the professional software for the Resmed machines. You would think that ResScan would be reliable enough to get the max pressure data correct.

The reason I'd like to see the detailed data is to figure out whether the "max" value is some kind of a "freak peak" or whether the machine actually raised the pressure that high in response to some kind of event or snoring or flow limitation.

If the machine is indeed raising the pressure above the max setting, then my guess is that it's a faulty machine. If this were me, I'd be taking it back to the DME and asking them what the heck is going on. And demanding that the machine be replaced under warranty.
Questions about SleepyHead?
See my Guide to SleepyHead
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
(03-30-2016, 07:38 AM)OpalRose Wrote: debby2242,
Is your attachment from ResScan software?

Is there a possibility that your pressure has been changed remotely by your DME?
If that happened then the max pressure setting should have changed. But the max pressure setting is clearly set to 8cm in this ResScan report.

Questions about SleepyHead?
See my Guide to SleepyHead
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
She should verify the settings in the Clinicial menu, as DME's have been known to change settings remotely.
Also, the ResScan software may not be giving reliable data.

If you have verified all stats, then I would asked for the machine to be exchanged.
OpalRose
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

How to Organize and Post ScreenShots

http://sleep.tnet.com/resources/sleepyhead/shorganize
https://sleep.tnet.com/reference/tips/imgur

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply


#10
This is a newbie question. The "pressure" being talked about here is a "setpoint" pressure and not a "detected" pressure, right? Just want to make sure I understand what I'm seeing in the data from my machine. The pressure graph I see from my data is either spiky or a series of ramps, not an organic-looking graph like what I see with flowrate.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [CPAP] right amount of pressure Healthkares 4 112 09-18-2017, 03:38 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
Question [Pressure] New ResMed Airsense 10 Pressure Problem spookyac47 5 190 09-16-2017, 03:44 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [Equipment] Viscious cycle of increased pressure -> more leak -> response of more pressure 3mp0w3r 5 160 09-16-2017, 09:04 AM
Last Post: OpalRose
  How do I know if pressure is too high? gimmedaREM 8 258 09-15-2017, 06:03 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Ahi still 2-3.5, increase pressure? Kryogen 8 241 09-15-2017, 10:45 AM
Last Post: pholynyk
  First night beginning treatment with DreamStation Falconhoof 11 324 09-14-2017, 03:53 PM
Last Post: Falconhoof
  [CPAP] Sudden Increase in Pressure CPAPGuy 3 378 09-09-2017, 05:36 AM
Last Post: CPAPGuy

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.