Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

treatment pressure higher than the setting pressure
#11
(03-30-2016, 01:44 AM)robysue Wrote:
(03-30-2016, 01:09 AM)sonicboom Wrote: In my experience this is caused by rainout.
Why would rainout cause the machine to increase the pressure past the maximum pressure setting?

Please note: I understand that rainout might be mistaken for snoring or a flow limitation and lead to a pressure increase. But we're not talking about a run of the mill pressure increase here: We're talking about the machine increasing the pressure past the maximum pressure setting, and that's very unusual.

In other words, since the max pressure setting is 8 cm, why would the machine decide that it needs to deliver 10cm?

To debby2242: Any chance you show us the detailed data for 3/28/2016? By the detailed data, I mean the the graphs for the flow rate, pressure, and leak rate? You can do this in either ResScan (if you downloaded "all" the data) or SH. I believe that SH 0.9-8 works with the AirSense 10 AutoSets.

I had the same problem and thought it was my machine. I went through three machines - now on my fourth- with this problem. I called Resmed and they said yes the machine CAN do this. I traced it to rainout control and that fixes the problem. I'm pretty sure this is the OPs problem. This is covered in great detail in my original postings on the issue when I had the same problem back last year. I posted some data at the time as well to show it.
Coffee
Post Reply Post Reply
#12
(03-30-2016, 07:32 AM)justMongo Wrote:
(03-30-2016, 06:37 AM)FrankNichols Wrote: It's a CPAP which doesn't collect data I believe.

The Autoset collects full data.

And, RobySue -- a very good question. I'm thinking it's not the machine; but the reporting software.

JM - I went through 3 machines with this problem. Now on #4. All my units have done this - even the current one. Data shows it as well, The machine does this. Resmed is aware of it. Control rainout - problem solved. Here is the link to my original post last year with graphs.

http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...alfunction
Coffee
Post Reply Post Reply
#13
sonicboom,
Thanks for posting the link to that thread. I didn't remember until I started reading through it. It would seem that ResMed and DME's are aware of this problem.
Post Reply Post Reply


#14
debby2242,
Take the time to read through the thread that sonicboom has posted. See his link above.
This must be a known defect, and they should replace your machine.

If the run-away pressure is caused by rainout, you will have to try and fix that. Are you using a heated hose? You can also try a hose cover, and be sure the machine is lower than your head. This way any moisture/water that gets in hose would flow back to humidifier.
Post Reply Post Reply
#15
(03-30-2016, 11:41 AM)OpalRose Wrote: sonicboom,
Thanks for posting the link to that thread. I didn't remember until I started reading through it. It would seem that ResMed and DME's are aware of this problem.

You're welcome. Yes they are aware of the problem but no they aren't fixing it since all 4 of my A10s did this. So replacing the unit per se is probably not going to fix the problem unless there is some other problem with the unit causing it which wasn't the case with my 4 units. In my case, as long as rainout is tamed it is a nonissue.
Coffee
Post Reply Post Reply
#16
Maybe the rainout is messing with a sensor.

The data that the OP posted does not look like any ResScan data that I have seen but I do not have the absolutely latest ResScan.

Best Regards,

PaytonA
Post Reply Post Reply


#17
(03-30-2016, 11:58 PM)PaytonA Wrote: Maybe the rainout is messing with a sensor.

The data that the OP posted does not look like any ResScan data that I have seen but I do not have the absolutely latest ResScan.

Best Regards,

PaytonA

My suspicion is this is set this way to overcome the tube obstruction or blockage caused by the rainout so you don't suffocate if tube is blocked. OPs data is definitely from ResScan summary stats page. Also, of interest, is when this happens the machine stops recording data until problems is solved.
Coffee
Post Reply Post Reply
#18
(03-30-2016, 11:58 PM)PaytonA Wrote: Maybe the rainout is messing with a sensor.

The data that the OP posted does not look like any ResScan data that I have seen but I do not have the absolutely latest ResScan.

it's what you get if you do a 'report', instead of examining the data... threw me too for a bit.
Post Reply Post Reply
#19
(03-31-2016, 05:54 PM)palerider Wrote:
(03-30-2016, 11:58 PM)PaytonA Wrote: Maybe the rainout is messing with a sensor.

The data that the OP posted does not look like any ResScan data that I have seen but I do not have the absolutely latest ResScan.

it's what you get if you do a 'report', instead of examining the data... threw me too for a bit.

Just ran a report from my version of ResScan and it does not look like what the OP put up.

Best Regards,

PaytonA
Post Reply Post Reply


#20
(03-31-2016, 08:44 PM)PaytonA Wrote:
(03-31-2016, 05:54 PM)palerider Wrote:
(03-30-2016, 11:58 PM)PaytonA Wrote: Maybe the rainout is messing with a sensor.

The data that the OP posted does not look like any ResScan data that I have seen but I do not have the absolutely latest ResScan.

it's what you get if you do a 'report', instead of examining the data... threw me too for a bit.

Just ran a report from my version of ResScan and it does not look like what the OP put up.

Best Regards,

PaytonA

I've got 5 something, and tried it the other night, and was able to find something that looked like that part way down one of the report pages.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [CPAP] Devilbiss IntelliPAP2 pressure setting TommBoyd 6 1,529 1 hour ago
Last Post: analog
  Increased Pressure, Increased Events, What to do? holden4th 1 69 2 hours ago
Last Post: Beej
Question [CPAP] Pressure mandating very tight mask & worsening AHI Wrz77 13 243 9 hours ago
Last Post: Wrz77
  [Treatment] Can a Sleep Number bed change my treatment? doickle 18 438 Yesterday, 11:48 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [CPAP] Much higher AHI with a full face mask vas2000 19 492 02-18-2017, 04:17 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  How to access Airsense 10 Expiratory pressure relief (EPR™) settings CCDrogan 3 142 02-17-2017, 11:30 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Upper pressure limit setting jpapnea 1 116 02-13-2017, 10:03 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.