Post Reply 
want to monitor sleep activity
Author Message
Kristen Offline

Members

Posts: 12
Joined: Nov 2012

Machine: remstar pro c-flex+
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Flexifit 431 full face
Humidifier: respironics stystem one
CPAP Pressure: 12
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: USA

Post: #11
RE: want to monitor sleep activity
I have a remstar pro c flex+ machine. The booklet says that on the info screen I can get AH1, large leak info and periodic breathing BUT those screens only display if your home care provider has enabled it. I asked 2 different people at the home care place about this. The first told me I didn't need ANY of the info from that screen including therapy hours and not to worry about it. The second person told me she would have to ask someone else about it. Does anyone know how I can enable this for myself. I suppose I can ask my doctor to send them a prescription telling them to enable the machine screen. Is this common to want info and be blocked by the home health care providers?
11-17-2012 08:47 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,057
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #12
RE: want to monitor sleep activity
You can download the clinician manual here:
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...P-Pressure

This explains how to access that part of the machine.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
11-17-2012 08:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #13
RE: want to monitor sleep activity
(11-17-2012 08:47 PM)Kristen Wrote:  I have a remstar pro c flex+ machine. The booklet says that on the info screen I can get AH1, large leak info and periodic breathing BUT those screens only display if your home care provider has enabled it. I asked 2 different people at the home care place about this. The first told me I didn't need ANY of the info from that screen including therapy hours and not to worry about it. The second person told me she would have to ask someone else about it. Does anyone know how I can enable this for myself. I suppose I can ask my doctor to send them a prescription telling them to enable the machine screen. Is this common to want info and be blocked by the home health care providers?

You can enable from the setting menu to show AHI/leak/PB
change the setting to "ON" (Not off) as shown here in pictures and video
http://www.apneaboard.com/pr-system-one-...structions

You need to check the data before noon (midday) ... it reset to zero at the start of new CPAP day at noon

Shame on them .... To hide the data from the patient who have to use the machine each night
11-17-2012 09:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Ugly Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 568
Joined: Oct 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Micro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 7-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Hydrocephalus, myopia, depression, chronic ugliness, stupidity, tinnitus, mixed sleep apnea.

Sex: Male
Location: Barrie Ontario Canada

Post: #14
RE: want to monitor sleep activity
(10-07-2012 01:42 PM)zonk Wrote:  
(10-07-2012 12:43 PM)Emma Wrote:  How do I know if my CPAP machine will take the new memory card so I can monitor my sleep through SleepyHead or other software?
welcome to the forum .. Emma
the machine in your profile REMstar Plus C Flex
the Plus model is a brick Not data capable machine
doesn't tell you anything beside hours using the machine each night
you need either the Auto or Pro models
for now SleepyHead support PRS1 50 series Not 60 series machines

A brick. I've seen that term used. However I found that it was all I was really eligible for. I even requested to take back my S9 Escape for an AutoSet and I would pay the difference. Nope. They don't go for that. Unless my doctor suggests it would be a good idea.
Now that I've started using an S8 AutoSet II (on loan) I'm finding my pressure variances are thus far, 9.6, 8.4, 11.0 and My S9 Escape not to mention my old retired beast before it, was initially set to 8.0.
So not everyone has a choice and I didn't really know the difference far enough ahead of time to make a decent decision. My old machine was pretty much a mechanical monster, no computer interface. Pressure was modified using a screwdriver and monitored using a manometer. But hopefully I'll be in touch with the doctor before long.
11-17-2012 09:50 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #15
RE: want to monitor sleep activity
(11-17-2012 09:50 PM)Ugly Wrote:  A brick. I've seen that term used. However I found that it was all I was really eligible for.

That's really a crime the medical system screws you that way. In addition to the enormous value of actual AHI data in the home every night vs. every few years in a sleep lab, leaks are an enormous problem for many users and have caused a lot of people's CPAP treatment to fail. An Escape machine can't tell you whether you have leaks in your sleep ruining your treatment.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
11-18-2012 01:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Dawei Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 342
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: Respironics "FitLife"
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 10-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Began CPAP in 2006; spent the first 6 years with a "brick"

Sex: Male
Location: Western North Carolina

Post: #16
RE: want to monitor sleep activity
I certainly agree with it being a sad situation when a patient who actually wants to be able to see how his/her treatment is going is blocked by the system. Unfortunately, there are many pts. who are not interested in data about their care, but when there is interest that info should be made available.
At the same time, I've learned that the medical pecking order (in the U.S.) is that the DME's marching orders must come from the doctor. In your case, Ugly, when your DME told you the limits of what you are eligible for, I understand that to mean that so far your doctor has only written a Rx for the type of machine you recently got. That "eligible for" phrase means what's on the Rx they received. So, it's unproductive to ask the DME for something like a machine model switch; they can't do it without that Rx from the doc. This has been my own experience in finally getting switched from a straight CPAP to an auto.
11-18-2012 07:26 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Dawei Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 342
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: Respironics "FitLife"
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 10-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Began CPAP in 2006; spent the first 6 years with a "brick"

Sex: Male
Location: Western North Carolina

Post: #17
RE: want to monitor sleep activity
Ugly, I just recalled that you're in Ontario. So, apparently the medical pecking order here is also the case in Canada.
11-18-2012 07:49 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Ugly Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 568
Joined: Oct 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Micro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 7-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Hydrocephalus, myopia, depression, chronic ugliness, stupidity, tinnitus, mixed sleep apnea.

Sex: Male
Location: Barrie Ontario Canada

Post: #18
RE: want to monitor sleep activity
(11-18-2012 07:26 AM)Dawei Wrote:  At the same time, I've learned that the medical pecking order (in the U.S.) is that the DME's marching orders must come from the doctor. In your case, Ugly, when your DME told you the limits of what you are eligible for, I understand that to mean that so far your doctor has only written a Rx for the type of machine you recently got. That "eligible for" phrase means what's on the Rx they received. So, it's unproductive to ask the DME for something like a machine model switch; they can't do it without that Rx from the doc. This has been my own experience in finally getting switched from a straight CPAP to an auto.

When I went to talk about - first it was getting my pressure adjusted. I had absolutely no knowledge of apneaboard.com or of any "modern" machines. So when I was given the option of a REMstar SE or a ResMed Escape, I didn't know the features (or lack of) for them and I certainly didn't know there were superior options. I was lucky enough to trade one for the other AFTER I proved that it was malfunctioning to begin with. Now I'm charting the statistics on a daily basis ready to offer up to - whoever cares to see them. I don't know if that will be the people from VitalAire or a doctor. But again a witness was necessary. At a straight "8" pressure I was informed that I still snored at night. I don't get these comments anymore.

MORNING OF/SLEEP TIME/PRESSURE/AHI/AI/HI
FRI 2012-11-16/ 7.07 HOURS/ 8.4/5.1/0.7/4.4
SAT 2012-11-17/10.05 HOURS/11.0/2.3/0.2/2.1
SUN 2012-11-18/ 7.06 HOURS/10.6/5.3/0.2/5.1

It's formatted better in MS Word. But I'm starting to see that it appears so INCONSISTENT and for the past decade they kept me on a constant pressure? Oh, to be sure, I don't have regular check ups to see "how I'm doing" or if the pressure given is still relevant. Only when I bug them enough saying "it's just not working anymore" do I get some action. Sheesh! Dont-know I feel I've been shafted all this time.
11-18-2012 09:51 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Dawei Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 342
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: Respironics "FitLife"
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 10-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Began CPAP in 2006; spent the first 6 years with a "brick"

Sex: Male
Location: Western North Carolina

Post: #19
RE: want to monitor sleep activity
Ugly, you're not alone in the series of events that led you here. Six years ago after my first sleep study, the doc told me about the specific Respironics M Series (brick) I was going to get at a pressure of 7cm. I knew nothing about any of this at that time. I used it at that setting for 5 years. Then, my wife told me of my apneas each night. When I tried to get a different mask, I learned the DME needed a Rx. That got me back to a doc, then sleep study and finally to this board.
Regarding the variations you're seeing in your pressures and AHI from night to night, I can tell you that I see similar swings in my own numbers. Each night is (or can be) a different situation as far as how we sleep for a variety of reasons. I would not be concerned with the night-to-night data changes you're seeing. The main thing is to see what your pressure is for most of the nights (95th percentile) to have input for you and your doctor about where your pressure should be set when you must go back to a machine with a set pressure. Like yours, my AHI also varies from night to night. Again, it's the range that counts, and as you know, the goal is to have it below 5 for most nights. Another thing I've learned is that a persons pressure requirements can change quite a bit over time. Finally, I've learned that mask leakage can have a lot to do with getting the AHI down there and keeping it in that range. At least it has for me.
11-18-2012 10:32 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,057
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #20
RE: want to monitor sleep activity
I have had my pressure adjusted three times. Initially it was 8 then within the year was raised to 10. Three years later, it was raised to 12. My blood pressure started creeping up again and I wasn't feeling rested so I got the Autoset. Now the most used numbers are 14 and above.

All the other increases were based on nothing much. They did it slowly in the beginning because I had more central events with higher pressure so I was at 8 for a while. The change to 12 was done after many months of trying to figure out why my blood pressure was dangerously high. I was given an oximeter to use over night and the increase was based on that.

Had I been using an autoPAP, all of that stress and worry would have never happened. Had I been able to view the data, I would have noticed and been able to fix it myself or at least my doctor and I could have worked together. Instead, I was at risk of stroke (caused a minor panic with the staff during my stress test), at risk of heart attack, had a heart cath, had all sorts of scary things. When it was all due to my sleep apnea and my lack of ability to see my own numbers.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
11-18-2012 01:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Smile [How to] FIX RESMED S+ SLEEP MONITOR BLUETOOTH ISSUES srlevine1 3 316 10-31-2016 11:55 AM
Last Post: sswenson
  SleepyHead on HD 4K Monitor WLKSRQ 13 635 10-18-2016 02:01 PM
Last Post: PapaWhisky
  ResMed S-Plus Sleep Monitor (S+) srlevine1 2 491 04-29-2016 10:35 PM
Last Post: Carbon
  Need a at home overnight oxygen level monitor/recorder sleep_apnea 3 767 01-17-2016 09:39 AM
Last Post: vsheline
  Is there any way for me to monitor amount of time in N3 sleep? mrkdilkington 9 1,086 10-14-2015 10:16 PM
Last Post: SleepyDude
  position monitor car54 3 698 10-01-2015 08:40 PM
Last Post: zonk
  PR Respironics SPO2 monitor? lmoretti 4 1,117 07-02-2015 06:31 PM
Last Post: Zeddy

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)