Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

what is the difference between a Bi-level CPAP and a BiPAP?
what is the difference between a Bi-level CPAP and a BiPAP?
I'm very new to this topic. I'm not even sure if I have sleep apnea yet, but I was looking around at treatment options and I noticed there are machines that are labeled as Bi-level CPAP mahcines and others categorized as BiPAPs. What is the difference?

Thanks,
Ben
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: what is the difference between a Bi-level CPAP and a BiPAP?
BiPAP is a trade name for a Bilevel CPAP. They are basically the same thing. The bilevel CPAPs allow one to set the inhalation pressure and the exhalation pressure separately. BiPAP is Philips' name for it and VPAP is Resmed's name for Bilevel CPAP.

Best Regards,

PaytonA

Admin Note:
PaytonA passed away in September 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~
Post Reply Post Reply
Hi brose005,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Did you have a sleep study done and did they try you on a bilevel machine?
I wish you good luck on your CPAP journey.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
Thanks PaytonA for answering my question! When I was reading about them it seemed to me to be the same thing but some sites that sell them were segregating them into two different categories. Its also good to know that VPAP is the same thing as well.
Post Reply Post Reply
And Respironics has Flex and Resmed has EPR which both provide for a lower pressure on exhalation and are sort of a limited form of Bilevel CPAP. That confused me at first. There are a lot of terms floating around, some are marketing and some are medical.
Post Reply Post Reply
Hi trish6hundred! Thanks for the welcoming words Smile