Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Amara view issues, air swallowing.... - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Amara view issues, air swallowing.... (/Thread-Amara-view-issues-air-swallowing)

Pages: 1 2

Amara view issues, air swallowing.... - Recipefordisaster - 07-28-2015

I'm fairly new to APAP therapy, with an AirSense10 for her and my fourth mask. My mouth falls open when I sleep, regardless of a chin strap, so I use a full face mask and tape so my mouth doesn't dry out. I'm using an Amara View, fitted for a medium cushion but just moved to a small because of constant leaks from cheeks and nose no matter what I did(silicone earplug material, aloe, strap adjustment, etc ). My pressure is 5-20 and was averaging 6.8 most of the time, AHI 1-3 with many centrals. I can't sleep when leaks spray my cheek or eyes with air. My old FFM gave me pressure sores on the bridge of my nose. I move around a lot at night so it's tough to know whether a mask will wake me with leaks... Most are fine when I first try them.

The small cushion yields few leaks, and definitely seems to fit better, but introduced some new issues. My pressure is now averaging 7.8(no other changes other than the smaller cushion) and this is causing me to swallow air for the first time. I never that issue in the previous 2 months of therapy. I have tried using uncomfortable positions to keep my neck from flexing and that reduces it, maybe by a third, but gives me a neck ache. My AHI has even gone up for unknown reasons, not much, but it seems odd with the higher pressure. I'm also not sleeping much, and have higher AHIs when i sleep well(of course, I'm awake so breathing normally). My average was like AHI 1.5 with 1.2 of those centrals.