Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Two APAPs - different readings - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Two APAPs - different readings (/Thread-Two-APAPs-different-readings)

Two APAPs - different readings - goldbergsfg - 07-30-2015

I've been using a CPAP for about 10 years with a setting of 11. A couple of years ago I switched to a RESMED S9 AUTO. My doc said I could either leave it at 11, or have it switched to AUTO and a setting range of 7-12.

I recently purchased a Z1-Auto for traveling and had is set for 7-12. The HDMUSA nitelog software indicated that it was hovering closer to the 7 so I figured - what the heck. I'll rest my S9 to 7-12 and see what happens.

After 3 days I took the SD card out of the S9 and looked at it using both the RESMED software and also the Sleepyhead and found that the S9 pushed the pressure up to about 11.5 to 12 all night. In fact, it ramped up to 11.5 within the first few minutes.

I'm using the same mask, an Airfit P10 with both machines. ANyone have any idea why the two AUTO machines are reacting so differently?
ANy suggestions other than going back to CPAP mode at my original prescription? (I'll probably get another sleep study done soon since my last one was 10 years ago)

Thanks

RE: Two APAPs - different readings - PaulaO2 - 07-30-2015

For one, it is just 3 nights. The only data you have of the Autoset being used as an APAP is those 3 nights. Not enough data. Not even close. Too many variables go into a night's sleep. Which is why we look for trends and that doesn't happen until you have *at least* ten nights or more.

For two, the Autoset is a much better machine. I would believe what it says over the Z1 any day.