Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
2 months of CPAP and feel the same - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: 2 months of CPAP and feel the same (/Thread-2-months-of-CPAP-and-feel-the-same)

2 months of CPAP and feel the same - YTN3rd - 09-16-2015

Hey,
I have been using a CPAP machine for 2 months now.. maybe even 3, and I don't feel any less tired or more productive during the day. My AHI has come down from 120 to about 7 or so which is great and all, but I expected to feel a bit bitter than I do.

Is this normal?

RE: 2 months of CPAP and feel the same - OMyMyOHellYes - 09-16-2015

From apnea standpoint, good job on getting down to 7, but not there yet. Machine? Software? Pressure range? Maxing out the pressure often?

From the not feelin' it standpoint, was sleep apnea the only issue you had? Often lots more wheels in motion than just apnea that causes somebody to feel bad. Don't quit even if you don't feel as good as you expected. Can still be doing well on (and need) CPAP and feel crappy all the time.

Too little to go on for folks to reasonably contribute.

OMMOHY

RE: 2 months of CPAP and feel the same - kaiasgram - 09-16-2015

(09-16-2015, 03:36 AM)YTN3rd Wrote: Hey,
I have been using a CPAP machine for 2 months now.. maybe even 3, and I don't feel any less tired or more productive during the day. My AHI has come down from 120 to about 7 or so which is great and all, but I expected to feel a bit bitter than I do.

Is this normal?

Effective treatment is AHI < 5. And many people don't feel better until they're closer to 1 or 2. So at 7 I'm not surprised to hear that you're not feeling better. Your treatment is not yet effective.