Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
New Member - My Story and Questions - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: New Member - My Story and Questions (/Thread-New-Member-My-Story-and-Questions)

Pages: 1 2

New Member - My Story and Questions - Gunner - 12-16-2015

Hi guys, new member here and I thought I'd introduce myself and also ask some questions. I would like to become an active member and hopefully in the future, when I've had some experience and some knowledge, help newbies like myself with all the questions, tips and expertise that comes with experience. My username by the way comes from the fact I'm a big Arsenal fan, a football/soccer team from London thats nickname is 'The Gunners'.

My name is Michael, I'm 31 years old and I live in London, England. I was diagnosed with sleep apnea a few weeks ago although I suspect I've suffered with the condition for probably over a year. I've always snored quite loudly but my girlfriend noticed it getting significantly louder and also the pausing in breathing but, being a guy I guess and, despite constant tiredness, I just dismissed it as her over worrying and nothing important.

Well, I was given a sleep study by the NHS and the results showed I had very severe sleep apnea. I'm not sure what the AHI score was, as it's something I've only just discovered, but my consultant said over a 60 minute period I was having over 80 incidents of apnea (is that a score of 80?) so immediately put me on a CPAP machine.