Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
[Diagnosis] Is this really apnea? - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: [Diagnosis] Is this really apnea? (/Thread-Diagnosis-Is-this-really-apnea)

Is this really apnea? - Tetramer - 01-16-2016

I am relatively new to the world of CPAP and apnea and looking for some help. I'm 36, 5'8" and 160. Neck size is 15 1/2. Non-smoker, exercise regularly.

After months of extreme daytime sleepiness, I went to a sleep doc who ordered an oximetry, overnight home test, a sleep study, and an MLST (daytime nap test). The oximetry and at-home were fine. The sleep study showed an AHI of 5.2 (all hypopneas) and I slept for all 4 naps in the MLST in under 7 minutes (avg.), but no REM. I fell asleep in 3.7 minutes on one of them! After reviewing the results, my doctor prescribed a CPAP based on the AHI score and I've been using it for 2 months.

I am wondering if this is the right therapy for my problem. When I say I have excessive daytime sleepiness, I mean that I fall asleep at my desk everyday. I fall asleep talking to people. I fall asleep in class (I'm the professor). An AHI of 5.2 seems awfully low for my symptoms, I think. That's where I need some help. That low score combined with the failed MLST makes em think CPAP won't work. So far, no improvement, but my doc says it might take 12-18 months to be effective with an AHI as low as mine. I don't think I can wait that long to just find out if it will work or not. He also doesn't have any other solutions since I don't appear to have narcolepsy and he doesn't like "idiopathic" as a diagnosis. I don't either. Any thoughts out there? I have the full sleep study results if that helps, let me know.

RE: Is this really apnea? - justMongo - 01-16-2016