Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Does a Resmed Airsence 10 detect mouth breathing? - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Does a Resmed Airsence 10 detect mouth breathing? (/Thread-Does-a-Resmed-Airsence-10-detect-mouth-breathing)

Pages: 1 2

Does a Resmed Airsence 10 detect mouth breathing? - monkeychow - 01-28-2016

Hi All,

I'm new at CPAP.

Discovered I have sleep apnea - due to extreme exhaustion, osteoporosis and some other health issues I've had going on. Basically I've felt like hell for a long time - I'm sure folks here can relate.

When I did a sleep test my AHI was over 100.

This is my 8th day of CPAP - and I have a rental Resmed Airsence 10 Auto - the tech seems to have set it between 8-14. Using a nasal pillows mask as I have a giant neck beard like something out of Lord of the Rings.

Something seems to work as according to the machines report when I turn it off my AHI's have gone down to around 0.5 - some nights even lower like 0.2 or 0.1.

So all has been going well - however the least 2 mornings I have woken up with my mouth a little open and drool/spit on the pillow (suggesting to me it was open for a while).

However the machine still shows the leak rate as having a smily face icon.

So my question is - does this matter? Am I likely to mouth breathing to an extent that's ruining the therapy? Can the resmed actually tell if I'm mouth breathing? That is - does the happy face mean the leak was at acceptable levels - or am I tricking it into thinking it's working when it's not.

Thanks for any help Smile

RE: Does a Resmed Airsence 10 detect mouth breathing? - justMongo - 01-28-2016

Welcome welcome to Apneaboard.

The criteria for the smiley face is less than optimal.