Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
cpap erases nasal congestion and cough - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: cpap erases nasal congestion and cough (/Thread-cpap-erases-nasal-congestion-and-cough)

cpap erases nasal congestion and cough - ran-man - 02-04-2016

I've been using a cpap machine since 2007 and I have just noticed something I find very weird. I currently have a very bad chest cold with lots of stuffiness and coughing
and sneezing.
(First cold in 9 years).

As soon as I put on my cpap mask, my symptoms go away completely. No more stuffed nose and no mòre coughing. But in the morning when I remove the mask, all the symptoms are back at full strength.
Maybe it's because of the constant air flow keeping the airway open so the mucas doesn't have a chance to build up.

I don't know about you but I find this very interesting.

Randy

RE: cpap erases nasal congestion and cough - Sleeprider - 02-04-2016

I use nasal pillows and have the same results. No matter how congested, the pressure clears it up for the night. Nice advantage, huh?

RE: cpap erases nasal congestion and cough - OpalRose - 02-04-2016

Agree, the nasal pillows are great when you are congested. It makes for a better nights sleep.

And welcome to Apnea Board ran-man.

RE: cpap erases nasal congestion and cough - Possum - 02-04-2016

I get the same effect. It's a really nice fringe benefit because I have a 2-year-old and thus am sick about once every 2-3 months. I find that my colds often don't progress into more troublesome sinus or chest infections either, which is awesome.