Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
It can't be this easy! - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: It can't be this easy! (/Thread-It-can-t-be-this-easy)

It can't be this easy! - BrianL99 - 02-17-2016

So I've been using CPAP for about 4 years. As I mentioned in an earlier post, all I really knew about my "therapy", was that I had stopped snoring. Some days I seemed to sleep much better than previously, most days ... somewhat better.

So after spending way too many hours reading posts on this forum, I decided I needed to know more. The first thing I learned, was that I was using a "brick". Not necessarily wanting to become a "numbers geek", but thinking maybe I was missing something, I invested almost $1000 in a new DreamStation, humidifier and a couple of new masks to try out.

After 7 days with my new Dream Maker, this is what I know:

I'm always between 1.5-2.3 AHI
My "Mask Fit" is generally 100% (I did go down to 98% one night.)
I'm averaging 7.5 hours/night
My 90% is at 12 (I set the machine for 4-20 and have Ramp ON).

At the risk of sounding ridiculously naive, even though I've spend at least 12-15 hours reading information on this site, what else do I really need to know? Is there room for improvement?

I've read a lot about people tweaking their upper & lower pressures. What's the benefit? In other words, if my 90% is at 12 and I'm never above 13 ... what do I gain by reducing my max pressure?[/quote]

RE: It can't be this easy! - surferdude2 - 02-17-2016

Lowering the upper setting won't make any difference unless you set it so low that you get into the range of pressure required for your therapy to block restrictions. Leaving it alone is fine.