Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Pulmonologist: What to expect - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Pulmonologist: What to expect (/Thread-Pulmonologist-What-to-expect)

Pulmonologist: What to expect - sprite60 - 03-08-2016

I had two sleep studies and was diagnosed with severe sleep apnea last year with AHI over 100. I have been using a ResMed S9 VPAP since June 2015. My pressures are high (E/I = 20/26). My compliance runs over 95% and I use SleepyHead software to monitor my results. Also, I use a CMS 50D+ Finger Pulse Oximeter about one third of the time and import the results into SleepyHead.

My AHI now ranges from 2 to 50. The last 30-day average was 15. Well over 75% of my AHI is “Unclassified Apnea” per SleepyHead and the balance is “Hypopnea.” I no longer feel tired all the time, but have never felt that “great feeling” that I have read about.

My pulmonologist seems to only look at the AHI results. In our last visit, he said, “Your AHI is 12; that’s great. Come back in 6 months.”

He does not analyze my breathing patterns or anything else that I can tell.

What should I expect from my pulmonologist? Also, how can I educate myself?

Thank You!

RE: Pulmonologist: What to expect - justMongo - 03-08-2016

Try the ResScan software as well.

If I had a diagnosis of COPD and was using that much pressure, I would expect more from a pulmonologist.
Lung capacity tests... Imaging (even if just x-ray.) Perhaps inhalers to relieve resistance.
For me, “Your AHI is 12; that’s great. Come back in 6 months.” just wouldn't cut it.

RE: Pulmonologist: What to expect - sprite60 - 03-08-2016

Results Report attached

RE: Pulmonologist: What to expect - sprite60 - 03-08-2016