Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
First time Bipap User, years of suffering - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: First time Bipap User, years of suffering (/Thread-First-time-Bipap-User-years-of-suffering)

Pages: 1 2

First time Bipap User, years of suffering - SleepyMersim - 11-12-2016

Hi everyone,

I want to start off by saying I've never used a forum before so that can explain the gravitas of what I feel. I'm a 240 white male, quite muscular and athletic. I have been suffering with what my doctor believes is sleep apnea for the last 7 years or so and feel like a moron for not trying to get this fixed sooner. I've suffered severe depression and physical fatigue all while getting a doctoral degree, getting married and having 3 kids. I couldn't take the fatigue anymore and went to a doctor who suggested I had sleep apnea, got the study done and bam, was told I have moderate apnea, AHI of 20. I got a bipap machine and with a setting of 8-12 (epap/ipap) my AHI is now about 1-2 every night.

Sorry for the long winded intro but my main question is why do I still feel extremely tired everyday? I've been with this AHI every night for about 2 weeks now. Does it take that long to feel like a normal person again?

I wanted to thank everyone who will take the time to help, or even just give a shoulder to lean on.

RE: First time Bipap User, years of suffering - Galactus - 11-13-2016

Hi there, welcome to the forum.

7 Years of untreated sleep apnea, took a long time to get to the bottom to absolutely need to seek treatment. By comparison it will take a bit of time to feel better from the treatment. Some feel better than others immediately, some take a month or longer to get back to feeling better.