Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
AHI differs between DreamStation and AirsSense 10 - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: AHI differs between DreamStation and AirsSense 10 (/Thread-AHI-differs-between-DreamStation-and-AirsSense-10)

Pages: 1 2

AHI differs between DreamStation and AirsSense 10 - JD007 - 11-18-2016

A newbie here:
Firstly, many thanks to the Forum and its Members for all the great information.

I have/had no symptoms of Sleep Apnea. Due to the evidence from some Cardio related tests, my Cardio suggested the Sleep Study. Two studies confirmed an AHI of 40

I have been trialing the DreamStation Auto (5 weeks) and now the AirSense 10 Auto (1 week).

On the DS:
Weeks 1 and 2: AHI 5 to 13 (bad fitting mask, I think)
Weeks 3 to 5: AHI 2.5 to 4 (Nuance Pro mask)
(Weeks 3 to 5 had one night each week of 6)

On the AirSense 10
Week 1: AHI 0.00 to 0.99 (Nuance Pro mask)

Both machines the pressure was set 4 to 15
The Humidifier is turned on and down low.
Using between 6 and 8 hours a night.

Using the DreamStation I regularly wake up during the night.
Todate, I have found the AirSense 10 more comfortable to use with less wake-ups. It seems to have a gentler pumping of air sensation.
(It also does not have a 'spotlight' for a screen!)

I am confused and concerned at the difference in the AHI readings between the two brands of equipment.
As I do not fully understand all the other machine readings, I have not made a comment.

Over the coming weeks, I am wanting to purchase a new sleep machine and want to make the correct decision. In Australia the price of the machines and masks are 'outrageous'.