Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
New to this - I'm not getting enough air - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: New to this - I'm not getting enough air (/Thread-New-to-this-I-m-not-getting-enough-air)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5

New to this - I'm not getting enough air - Alan Adler - 12-03-2016

Hello board. I am new to this. But I'm technical, an engineer with many patents. I have been diagnosed with RLS (Restless Leg Syndrome) which wakes me up with painful arms and legs after as little as 10 minutes sleep. I have developed a hypothesis that this condition is due to oxygen deprivation and my hypothesis has been endorsed by leading physicians in this field.

I've found that if I drowse, partially awake, I do not develop the pain. So, despite my not having apnea, I decided to try CPAP. I purchased a DSX500 DreamStation Auto CPAP and 3 nasal masks (DreamWear, Nuance Pro, Wisp).

The DreamWear was uncomfortably tight and is not adjustable. It gave me a sore nose in 2 hours. During that time pressure went very slowly from 4 to 11 (ramp was not activated). It wasn't until pressure reached about 10 that I felt I was getting enough air.

Next I tried Nuance Pro mask. It's very comfortable. But pressure only rose from 4 to 6, then drifted back down to 4.1 over a one hour session. At no time did I feel I was getting sufficient air.

I am a patient of the Kaiser Permanente system, so I will soon consult with a provider. But I'll bet some of you members know more than providers. So I've joined here, seeking your expertise.

I've already learned from this board how to access the provider menu, so I can program the machine to start higher. But prior to that I'd like to learn more.

Thank you for your help and suggestions

Alan