Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Mouth leaking air problem and taping - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Mouth leaking air problem and taping (/Thread-Mouth-leaking-air-problem-and-taping)

Mouth leaking air problem and taping - lrob123 - 04-03-2017

I'm new to CPAP (Auto Pap) and have used my machine for 3 nights.    I have a nasal pillow mask (Swift Bella) and it is working well with not much leaking according to Sleepyhead.

According to my stats in Sleepyhead and the helpful people on this board, I will need to get my pressure range increased.  The machine is set to 4cm-8cm and I spend most time at 8cm still having apneas.

So I will get my pressure increased soon, I'm asking my doc first and if that doesn't work (e.g if he tells me to wait until my appointment in May), I will change it myself.

Anyway, when my pressure goes up to 7cm or 8cm, occasionally air spurts out of my mouth with a hissing or popping sound which wakes me up and wakes my husband.  He is not too happy about this.  

I am not a mouth breather and my mouth is almost always closed.  With CPAP on, it takes a bit of pressure to open my mouth.  So I don't think I'm opening my mouth accidentally, it is air that is popping it open a little.  Sometimes when it wakes me up, I concentrate on keeping my tongue up at the top of my mouth, touching front teeth, and even sucking a little.  Still the air pops my mouth open.

First I tried a chip strap (the white bandage-looking kind given to me by the DME) and it sort of gave me a headache, but my lips still buzzed and leaked air.