Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
[Product Review] Dreamstation Bipap Auto SV - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Product Review Forums (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Product-Review-Forums)
+---- Forum: CPAP Machine Reviews (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-CPAP-Machine-Reviews)
+---- Thread: [Product Review] Dreamstation Bipap Auto SV (/Thread-Product-Review-Dreamstation-Bipap-Auto-SV)

Dreamstation Bipap Auto SV - C0mbe - 04-16-2017

4  to 5

For the last two weeks I have been using the Dreamstation Bipap Auto SV.  

Some caveats and assumptions:

1. I have altitude-related complex sleep apnea.  At sea level I have OSA, and the higher I go, the more it presents as mixed or complex apnea.  My experience may differ from someone with traditional central or complex apnea.  
  2. I have NO EXPERIENCE with the previous generation of ASV/Auto SV machines, so I can't compare.  
  3. This machine does NOT work with sleepyhead (but I am working on that), it DOES work with Encore Pro 2, and dreammapper. 
  4. Dreamwear headgear was awful with this machine.  My dreamwear normally has a great fit, but with the pressure support moving up and down it loses its seal very quickly and becomes an arousal liability during the night.  I switched back to p10s and they worked like a dream.   
TL;DR:  This machine is exceptional, and if you are looking only at numbers, it's not quite as effective as the Aircurve 10 ASV.  Despite that, I still found the quality of sleep to be excellent, and in some ways better than on the Aircurve 10 ASV.  Its going to be a tough decision as to which machine I ultimately will choose.    

HARDWARE:   5